Connect with us

Rugby League News

Mal Meninga names inexperienced Australia squad for Rugby League World Cup

The New Zealand, Tonga and Papua New Guinea squads have been confirmed in the last few hours for the World Cup but one of the most noteworthy announcements ahead of any international window is the reveal of the Australia squad.

Often the benchmark when it comes to international rugby league, the Green and Golds are looking to win a third consecutive World Cup having won the 2013 at Old Trafford against New Zealand where this year’s final will be held and retaining it in 2017 in Australia against England.

However, as they go for World Cup number three they have named what some people are calling their “most inexperienced squad ever” with 13 debutants and just 64 test appearances among the 11 who have played for their country before.

Australia have only played four games since they won the 2017 World Cup which is partly the reason for this inexperienced squad which has a new skipper in James Tedesco and new vice-captain in Isaah Yeo.

The interesting battle will be over the number seven shirt between the in form Daly Cherry-Evans and Grand Final hero Nathan Cleary.

Speaking of the Grand Final, Man of the Match from the decider between Penrith and Parramatta has been left out in Dylan Edwards.

Edwards, was outstanding the in final and is only named on stand by alongside Dally M Medalist Nicho Hynes and South Sydney hooker Damien Cook.

Here’s the squad in full:

Josh Addo-Carr (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Matt Burton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels)
Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos)
Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters)
Reuben Cotter (North Queensland Cowboys)
Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Gold Coast Titans)
Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)
Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys)
Ben Hunt (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys)
Murray Taulagi (North Queensland Cowboys)
James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)
Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
Standby players
Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)
Nicho Hynes (Cronulla Sharks)
Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News