Connect with us

Super League

Leeds v Wigan: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Leeds and Wigan have both announced their 21-man squads for Thursday night’s Super League Round Three clash at Emerald Headingley Stadium (KO 7:45pm).

It’s set to be the battle of the depleted squads, with both sides having battled numerous injuries throughout the opening few weeks of the season.

The Rhinos kicked off their campaign with a win over Wakefield, but suffered defeat to Castleford the following week before being knocked out of the Challenge Cup by St Helens despite a gutsy performance.

The Warriors, meanwhile, are unbeaten so far, with league victories over Leigh and Wakefield coming before they beat York City Knights to progress to the Challenge Cup quarter final.

The game will be available to watch on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Arena, with coverage starting from 7:00pm.

Leeds Rhinos

Kyle Eastmond is set to make his Rhinos debut as one of two changes to the 21. He replaces captain Luke Gale, who will miss several weeks with a broken thumb, while teenager Levi Edwards comes in for King Vuniyayawa who is unavailable due to concussion protocols. Richie Myler (hamstring), Jack Walker (foot), Harry Newman (leg), Konrad Hurrell (calf), Ash Handley (knee), Rob Lui (quad), Tom Holroyd (knee) and Callum McLelland (groin) all remain out injured. Zane Tetevano has been included but won’t feature after picking up a four-match ban after being sent off for a late hit on Theo Fages last week.

21-man squad: 2 Tom Briscoe, 8 Mikolaj Oledzki, 9 Kruise Leeming, 10 Matt Prior, 11 Alex Mellor, 12 Rhyse Martin, 13 Zane Tetevano, 14 Brad Dwyer, 15 Liam Sutcliffe, 17 Cameron Smith, 20 Bodene Thompson, 21 Alex Sutcliffe, 22 Sam Walters, 24 Luke Briscoe, 25 James Donaldson, 26 Jarrod O’Connor, 27 Jack Broadbent, 28 Corey Hall, 30 Levi Edwards, 31 Morgan Gannon, 33 Kyle Eastmond.

Wigan Warriors

Bevan French makes his return to the side after proving his fitness following a delayed return to the club after the off-season. He replaces Liam Byrne, who will serve a one-match ban for dangerous contact against York. The Warriors are still without Dom Manfredi (thumb), Liam Marshall (ACL), Jai Field (hamstring) and Oliver Gildart (groin).

21-man squad: 1 Bevan French, 3 Zak Hardaker, 7 Thomas Leuluai, 8 Brad Singleton, 9 Sam Powell, 10 Joe Bullock, 11 Willie Isa, 12 Liam Farrell, 13 John Bateman, 14 Ollie Partington, 15 Morgan Smithies, 17 Tony Clubb, 20 Harry Smith, 21 Ethan Havard, 22 Jake Bibby, 23 Mitch Clark, 25 Joe Shorrocks, 28 Sam Halsall, 29 James McDonnell, 30 Umyla Hanley, 31 Jackson Hastings.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League