Leeds v Castleford: 21-man squads and injury update

Leeds and Castleford have both announced their squads for Friday night’s round 18 clash at Emerald Headingley Stadium (KO 7:45pm).

The Rhinos will be hoping to bounce back from Sunday’s heart breaking loss to Warrington, which saw George Williams’ last-minute drop goal snatch a 27-26 win for the Wolves.

The Tigers’ depleted squad, meanwhile, put up a gutsy fight at home to Huddersfield but ultimately fell to a sixth straight home defeat, losing 34-16.

Leeds Rhinos

Rob Lui returns from a hamstring injury for the Rhinos, replacing Mikolaj Oledzki who picked up a toe issue against Warrington. Luke Gale is also included despite picking up a two-match ban for contact with a match official, as the club await the result of an appeal against the suspension. Alex Mellor (knee), Jack Broadbent (ankle), Alex Sutcliffe (knee) and Jack Walker (foot) remain unavailable.

21-man squad: 2 Tom Briscoe, 3 Harry Newman, 4 Konrad Hurrell, 5 Ash Handley, 6 Rob Lui, 7 Luke Gale, 9 Kruise Leeming, 10 Matt Prior, 12 Rhyse Martin, 13 Zane Tetevano, 14 Brad Dwyer, Liam Sutcliffe, 16 Richie Myler, 17 Cameron Smith, 18 Tom Holroyd, 19 King Vuniyayawa, 20 Bodene Thompson, 24 Luke Briscoe, 25 James Donaldson, 26 Jarrod O’Connor, 31 Morgan Gannon.

Castleford Tigers

The Tigers are boosted by the return of 10 players from COVID protocols, including Peter Mata’utia, Oliver Holmes, Gareth O’Brien, Adam Milner, Danny Richardson and Grant Millington. Captain Michael Shenton is ruled out with a suspected face fracture, while Cheyse Blair and youngsters Brad Martin and Lewis Peachey are also among those also dropping out. There’s still no Jacques O’Neill (hamstring), Sosaia Feki (achilles), Jake Trueman, Liam Watts or George Griffin.

21-man squad: 1 Niall Evalds, 2 Derrell Olpherts, 3 Peter Mata’utia, 7 Danny Richardson, 9 Paul McShane, 10 Grant Millington, 11 Oliver Holmes, 13 Adam Milner, 14 Nathan Massey, 17 Alex Foster, 19 Tyla Hepi, 20 James Clare, 21 Jesse Sene-Lefao, 22 Daniel Smith, 23 Greg Eden, 24 Suaia Matagi, 25 Jordan Turner, 26 Lewis Bienek, 30 Brad Graham, 31 Gareth O’Brien, 38 Jimmy Keinhorst.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments