Leeds Rhinos vs Castleford Tigers: Kick-off time, TV channel and predicted line-ups

The play-offs start a week early this year as Leeds and Castleford battle in a shoot out for the final play-off spot at Headingley.

It’s the biggest game at the redeveloped Headingley and is in many ways the biggest game of the season so far with one team set for an early holiday as the other sustains their Old Trafford dreams.

Add to this that it’s a local derby between two teams who are always trying to top each other and you have a recipe for an absolute classic.

Kick-off time and TV channel

The game kicks off at 15:00.

TV coverage starts at 14:30 on Sky Sports Arena.

Predicted Line-ups

Leeds Rhinos
With Aidan Sezer, Ash Handley, Cameron Smith and James Donaldson back in the mix, Rohan Smith has a lot of space to make changes. Blake Austin was in the squad, and Smith’s comments this week suggested it was more likely that we’d see Richie Myler partner Aidan Sezer but Austin featured in yesterday so it seems he will play. This will mean Myler returns to fullback and Zak Hardaker to centre with either Tom Briscoe or Liam Tindall on the wing. Morgan Gannon and Rhyse Martin will start at second row with James Bentley at 13. This would see only one of Cameron Smith and James Donaldson returning to the bench assuming impressive youngster Jarrod O’Connor keeps his place in the side.

16 Richie Myler
20 Tom Briscoe
33 Zak Hardaker
4 Liam Sutcliffe
5 Ash Handley
6 Blake Austin
7 Aidan Sezer
8 Mikolaj Oledzki
9 Kruise Leeming
13 Zane Tetevano
12 Rhyse Martin
21 Morgan Gannon
11 James Bentley
10 Matt Prior
14 Brad Dwyer
17 Cameron Smith
24 Jarrod O’Connor

Castleford Tigers
Castleford have lost all of their natural halfbacks which will likely see Greg Eden and Paul McShane starts in the halves with Adam Milner at hooker and former Rhinos Alex Sutcliffe at centre and Alex Mellor at second-row alongside George Lawler. On the wing is potential future Rhino Derrell Olpherts. One interesting decision for Radford to make is who will complete the bench with a choice between hooker Cain Robb and fullback Jason Qareqare.

4 Jake Mamo
2 Derrell Olpherts
21 Alex Sutcliffe
17 Mahe Fonua
5 Bureta Faraimo
23 Greg Eden
9 Paul McShane
15 George Griffin
12 Adam Milner
22 Daniel Smith
10 George Lawler
37 Alex Mellor
13 Joe Westerman
14 Nathan Massey
25 Suaia Matagi
28 Brad Martin
33 Jason Qareqare

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments