Connect with us

Super League

Leeds Rhinos star given deserved award at end of 2022

Young Leeds Rhinos star Jarrod O’Connor, who continued his rise in the Rhinos side last season, was named the club’s Shooting Star.

After a terrific season, building on the 2020 and 2021 campaigns, he cemented himself in the running for the number nine shirt in 2022 as the season progressed flourishing under the guidance of new boss Rohan Smith.

He even started the Grand Final ahead of skipper Kruise Leeming and forcing star hooker Brad Dwyer completely out of the 17 as a whole.

He has now been awarded the number 14 shirt ahead of 2023 replacing the Hull FC bound Dwyer.

Prop Mikolaj Oledzki has been named Leeds Rhinos Player of the Year for the second consecutive year at the club’s annual awards.

Oledzki, follows in the footsteps of Iestyn Harris and Jamie Peacock by winning the award twice in a row.

Top try scorer Ash Handley was named in second place and Rhyse Martin who broke the record for most consecutive goals in a season came in third place.

Aidan Sezer won the vote for the Leeds Building Society Try of the Season for his his dramatic try against Castleford to secure a famous win for the Rhinos.

Leeds Rhinos Women’s head coach Lois Forsell also confirmed their top performers of the season.  England international Hanna Butcher won the Players Player of the Year and Caitlin Beever won the Coaches Player of the Year and Fans Player of the Year award.  Fran Goldthorp won the fans’ vote for Try of the Year for one of the season for her winning try against ok St Helens.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League