Connect with us

Super League

Leeds Rhinos legend and other rugby league heroes overlooked in New Year’s Honours List

Rob Burrow

At this time every year, the Monarch releases the New Year’s Honours List revealing which men and women will receive Knighthoods, OBEs, CBEs and MBEs.

After the sad passing of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, it is now the responsibility of His Majesty King Charles III.

Whenever this list is released, people instantly focus on the famous names involved and fans of sport look for representatives of their sport in the list.

However, this time around there is very minimal representation from rugby league.

Many were hoping that Leeds Rhinos legend Kevin Sinfield would finally receive a Knighthood and truly be Sir Kevin Sinfield.

This comes after Sinfield ran seven ultramarathons in a week in 2022 to raise more money in the fight against Motor Neurone Disease inspired by good friend Rob Burrow.

In 2021, he ran 101 miles in 24 hours whilst 2020 saw him run seven marathons in seven days earning an OBE after receiving an MBE for services to rugby league in the past.

He has now raised over £7 million in the fight against MND but still hasn’t received a Knighthood.

Others meanwhile are rightly disappointed to see that England’s Wheelchair team who won the World Cup and brought new eyes to a very inclusive sport were not included and nor were the PDRL team who also won their World Cup.

Meanwhile, Robert Elstone who formerly worked for Castleford Tigers and has acted as Executive Assistant at the RFL was included in the list.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League