Connect with us

Super League

Leeds Rhinos’ greatest Super League campaign

Super League is about to head into its 28th season.

Of the previous 27, St Helens have won 10 titles, Leeds Rhinos have claimed eight meaning that between them they have two third of the Super League titles between them.

Wigan Warriors have won five titles and Bradford Bulls have won the other four. Four other clubs have won the League Leaders’ Shield whilst five have contested but lost Grand Finals.

Every Super League club has made a splash at one stage or another at the right end of the table.

So, that’s why we’re considering every Super League club’s super season in the top flight, that is to say, their best every Super League campaign.

Today is the turn of Leeds Rhinos. But what is their best ever campaign as they head into 2023 hoping that this year proves to be their best ever season?

As eight time Super League Champions, this is a difficult choice.

The best way would be to boil it down to the three times they finished top in 2004, 2009 and 2015.

From there, two seasons stand out at opposite ends of the Golden Generation: 2004 and 2015.

In 2015, Leeds won the treble becoming only the third side in Super League history to do so but as this is based on Super League campaigns, 2004 gets the nod.

Losing just twice all season, that is the joint lowest number of league defeats in a season.

They also produced big wins over the likes of rivals Bradford Bulls, St Helens and Wigan Warriors and their way to a first ever Grand Final win.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League