Connect with us


Lance Todd Trophy Quiz: Can you name every winner in the summer era?

Lance Todd Trophy winners

In this quiz, we test your knowledge to see if you can name every Lance Todd Trophy winner of the summer era.

The award, which is given to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final, has been a prestigious prize in rugby league for many years and is voted for by the media in attendance at the game – the player with the most votes wins the award.

Billy Stott was the first player to be awarded the individual trophy following the 1945-46 Challenge Cup Final. The Wakefield Trinity centre made history that day, with the award handed out every year since.

St Helens legend Sean Long remains the only player to win the award three times, while five players have won the award twice – Gerry Helme of Warrington, Wigan legends Andy Gregory and Martin Offiah, St Helens’ Paul Wellens and former Hull FC half-back Marc Sneyd.

Since the switch to summer rugby in 1996, players who play full-back, stand-off and scrum-half have dominated the Lance Todd Trophy award, with the conditions and large pitch at Wembley allowing the more creative players to work their magic.

Players from Wigan, St Helens and Leeds have unsurprisingly dominated the award, given their success as clubs in the competition.

With all this in mind and given the history and high regard of the Lance Todd Trophy, we want to test your knowledge to see if you can name all the winners in the Super League era.

Attempt the quiz below now and see how many you can get correct.

Lance Todd Trophy Quiz: Name every winner in the summer era

1 of 29


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Quizzes