Connect with us

More RL

Inaugral Wheelchair Golden Boot announced

The annual Wheelchair Rugby League awards at Headingley will be accompanied by the inaugural Wheelchair Golden Boot award.

It is the third variation to come out of the Golden Boot, after the Mens and Women’s awards.

The presentation of the award will coincide with the domestic awards, which will take place on 31st January in Leeds.

Among the nominees is James Simpson of Leeds Rhinos and Jack Brown of Halifax. Both are up for both this and Domestic Player of the Year.

Other nominees for the Golden Boot are  Nathan Collins of England,  Gilles Clausells and Kevin Pastor (France); Cory Cannane (Australia); Jay Anderson (Scotland); and Stuart Williams (Wales).

Nigel Wood, the IRL’s Chief Executive Officer said: “We are delighted to announce the addition of a third Golden Boot award for Rugby League.

“We are keen to recognise the rapid progress of Wheelchair Rugby League over recent times, and the outstanding skill, athleticism and courage of those involved.

“It is without doubt, one of the greatest undiscovered aspects of Rugby League but that will all change as Wheelchair Rugby League continues to excite, thrill and enthral up to, and beyond the World Cup.

“The award of the Golden Boot will attract more eyeballs to this magnificent version of Rugby League and that can only be welcomed.”

Meanwhile, at the Domestic Awards, there are five awards up for grabs. They are Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Club of the Year, Team of the Year and Coach of the Year.

There are three nominations for each award.

The third nomination for Player of the Year is Lewis King of Argonauts. His club are also up for Team of the Year and  Club of the Year. Coach Fred Nye is up for the Coach of the Year award.

Host club Leeds dominate the Young Player of the Year nominations as Josh Butler and Nathan Collins are nominated.  The Rhinos are also up for Club of the Year and Team of the Year.

The final nomination for Young Player is Richard Hawkins of Halifax. Fax are also up for Team of the Year and coach Wayne Boardman is up for Coach of the Year.

Finally, North Wales Crusaders have received two nominations. They are up for Club of the Year and coach Steve Jones is nominated for Coach of the Year.

Martin Coyd OBE, the Chair of England Wheelchair Rugby League, said: “2019 was a year of improvement, progress and achievement for Wheelchair Rugby League, both domestically and internationally – ending with our England team excelling in Australia on their ground-breaking Ashes tour.

“The introduction of this awards night provides us with the opportunity to recognise and celebrate those achievements – and also to look forward to an exciting year of growth domestically in 2020, with an incoming Wheelaroo Tour to crown the season in October and with Rugby League World Cup 2021 coming fast over the horizon.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in More RL