Hull KR v Wigan: Predicted line-ups and late injury news

Fourth plays fifth tonight in a blockbuster Super League clash and, if the table stays the way it is, then this could wind up being a play-off fixture come Autumn. Hull KR have already beaten Wigan once this season but this is a very different looking Wigan side both in terms of personnel and attitude. It should be a brilliant contest.

A tough situation has gotten worse for Tony Smith. Not only has he lost a huge chunk of his spine with Jordan Abdull and Adam Quinlan out for the long term but Mikey Lewis – who started in the halves at Leigh – and key forward Dean Hadley are both out. Fortunately for Smith, Brad Takairangi is more than capable of moving into the halves but subsequently what does he do about his backs? Well, Ethan Ryan’s return to the squad is timely so he could very well start on the wing otherwise Jimmy Keinhorst could start at centre having impressed on loan at Castleford. Undoubtedly, Ben Crooks will remain at fullback. As for the Hadley situation, I imagine George Lawler will move into the starting line-up to replace him.

Wigan’s team is finally starting to take shape after a year of injuries and suspensions. If Oliver Gildart can prove fit enough to start having pulled out of Wigan’s last two games at the last minute, Adrian Lam could be left with a positive headache where his backs are concerned. I imagine Zak Hardaker will return to fullback having started on the bench against Salford prompting Jackson Hastings to move into the halves. This could very well see Jai Field move back to the wing where he started this season against Leigh. Liam Farrell is back in the fold after a well deserved rest leaving Lam with a number of brilliant backrowers to fit into his side.

Hull KR
2 Ben Crooks
23 Ethan Ryan
3 Greg Minikin
4 Shaun Kenny-Dowall
5 Ryan Hall
11 Brad Takairangi
25 Rowan Milnes
26 Will Maher
9 Matt Parcell
16 George King
27 Luis Johnson
12 Kane Linnett
15 George Lawler
8 Albert Vete
10 Korbin Sims
14 Jez Litten
18 Matty Storton

3 Zak Hardaker
6 Jai Field
22 Jake Bibby
4 Oliver Gildart
5 Liam Marshall
20 Harry Smith
31 Jackson Hastings
17 Tony Clubb
9 Sam Powell
21 Ethan Havard
12 Liam Farrell
27 Kai Pearce-Paul
15 Morgan Smithies
11 Willie Isa
13 John Bateman
19 Liam Byrne
25 Joe Shorrocks

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments