Huddersfield v St Helens: Squads Announced

Huddersfield and St Helens have both announced their 21-man squads for Friday night’s fixture at Emerald Headingley Stadium (KO 6:00pm).

Saints have been flying since the restart, winning all four of their games and scoring a total 124 points.

The Giants, meanwhile, have slumped to three losses with the most recent being a convincing 31-12 defeat to Hull.

Huddersfield Giants

The Giants have once again been blighted by injuries and will be without eight players, including Ashton Golding, Ukuma Ta’ai and Lee Gaskell, while Suaia Matagi is suspended. From the 21 named, Aidan Sezer, Darnell McIntosh, Jake Wardle, Kenny Edwards and Michael Lawrence are all doubts to play. Simon Woolford has again been forced to call on the club’s youngsters, with Owen Trout and Reiss Butterworth retaining their places, while NRL-bound Dominic Young also comes in.

21-man squad: 2 Jermaine McGillvary, 3 Jake Wardle, 4 Jordan Turner, 5 Darnell McIntosh, 7 Aidan Sezer, 8 James Gavet, 9 Adam O’Brien, 11 Kenny Edwards, 12 Joe Wardle, 13 Michael Lawrence, 14 Matty English, 15 Oliver Wilson, 21 Leroy Cudjoe, 22 Tom Holmes, 23 Olly Russell, 24 Louis Senior, 26 Sam Hewitt, 27 Sam Wood, 30 Reiss Butterworth, 32 Owen Trout, 33 Dominic Young.

St Helens

James Roby misses out for Saints after picking up a head knock against Hull KR, while Zeb Taia also misses out. They’re replaced by young hooker or back rower Josh Eaves and Joe Batchelor. Theo Fages also makes the 21 despite leaving the field with a leg injury against Rovers after an awkward fall.

21-man squad: 1 Lachlan Coote, 3 Kevin Naiqama, 5 Regan Grace, 6 Jonny Lomax, 7 Theo Fages, 8 Alex Walmsley, 12 Dominique Peyroux, 13 Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 14 Morgan Knowles, 15 Matty Lees, 16 Kyle Amor, 17 Jack Ashworth, 19 Aaron Smith, 20 James Bentley, 21 Matty Costello, 22 Jack Welsby, 23 Joe Batchelor, 24 Josh Eaves, 26 Josh Simm, 27 Lewis Dodd, 32 James Graham.