Huddersfield v Leeds: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Huddersfield and Leeds have both announced their 21-man squads for Sunday afternoon’s round five fixture at the John Smith’s Stadium (KO 3:00pm).

Neither side has started the season how they’d have liked, each notching just one win from their first five games in all competitions.

The Giants are arguably the more in-form side, however, with their 36-18 Challenge Cup victory over Leigh coming more recently than Leeds’28-22 win against Wakefield, with the Rhinos losing their last four.

The game will be available to watch for free for season ticket holders via the Our League app.

Huddersfield Giants

There’s two big returnees for the Giants with Joe Greenwood and Ricky Leutele coming back from suspension and a broken hand respectively. They replace Jake Wardle and Louis Senior. The only other change sees Oliver Russell named in place of young prop Ronan Michael, who has joined Whitehaven on a two-week loan deal.

21-man squad: 2 Jermaine McGillvary, 4 Ricky Leutele, 5 Darnell McIntosh, 6 Lee Gaskell, 7 Aidan Sezer, 8 Luke Yates, 9 Adam O’Brien, 10 Michael Lawrence, 11 Kenny Edwards, 13 Josh Jones, 14 Matty English, 15 Joe Greenwood, 16 Jack Cogger, 17 Chris McQueen, 18 Jack Ashworth, 19 James Cunningham, 20 Oliver Wilson, 21 Leroy Cudjoe, 22 James Gavet, 23 Oliver Russell, 27 Sam Wood.

Leeds Rhinos

Liam Sutcliffe is set to return for the Rhinos after recovering from a knee injury. He replaces Richie Myler who serves the first game of his two-match ban. Corey Hall also returns to the 21 in place of Cameron Smith, who has a hamstring problem, while there’s still no Zane Tetevano (suspended), Luke Gale (thumb), Jack Walker (foot), Harry Newman (leg), Rob Lui (quad), Tom Holroyd (leg) or Callum McLelland (groin).

21-man squad: 2 Tom Briscoe, 4 Konrad Hurrell, 5 Ash Handley, 8 Mikolaj Oledzki, 9 Kruise Leeming, 10 Matt Prior, 11 Alex Mellor, 12 Rhyse Martin, 14 Brad Dwyer, 15 Liam Sutcliffe, 19 King Vuniyayawa, 20 Bodene Thompson, 21 Alex Sutcliffe, 22 Sam Walters, 24 Luke Briscoe, 25 James Donaldson, 26 Jarrod O’Connor, 27 Jack Broadbent, 28 Corey Hall, 31 Morgan Gannon, 33 Kyle Eastmond.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments