Huddersfield Giants star Jake Connor’s position revealed as Will Pryce hit with massive squad number demotion

At a fan event attended by over 300 and hosted by Giants legend, Eorl Crabtree, Huddersfield Giants have tonight announced their squad numbers for the 2023 season.

The Giants are the fourth team to release their full squad numbers, after St Helens, Warrington and Leeds. The numbers see have a change in jersey, with NRL-bound Will Pryce the player with the biggest change.

The star full-back has moved to number 32, despite having the number one jersey last year. That is to make way for Jake Connor, who returns to the club after six seasons at Hull FC.

New signings Esan Martsters Kevin Naiqama will take numbers three and four respectively, with stalwart Jermaine McGillvary retaining number two. Jake Bibby will wear number five after signing from Wigan.

Jamaican Internationals Ashton Golding and Kieran Rush, who scored the Reggae Warriors’ first ever points at a Rugby League World Cup, will wear numbers 14 and 33 respectively. Golding moves from the number five jersey as he has adapted to a utility role at the club.

Last season’s halves partnership in Tui Lolohea and Theo Fages will remain the same, but both will have to perform well if they are to retain their place with the likes of Rush and Pryce vying for a place in the starting 17.

Former Wigan, St Helens and Leeds forward Joe Greenwood takes the place of club legend Michael Lawrence at number 10. Greenwood has adapted to the prop forward role after being a back rower for the majority of his career.
Other new additions include hooker, Nathan Peats, former Canberra Raiders man Harry Rushton, former Salford front rower Harvey Livett and former Wigan Duo Sam Halsall and Jack Bibby will wear numbers 9, 16, 22, 24 and 31.

Huddersfield Giants Squad Numbers in full:
1. Jake Connor
2. Jermaine McGillvary
3. Esan Marsters
4. Kevin Naiqama
5. Jake Bibby
6. Tui Lolohea
7. Theo Fages
8. Chris Hill
9. Nathan Peats
10. Joe Greenwood
11. Josh Jones
12. Chris McQueen
13. Luke Yates
14. Ashton Golding
15. Matty English
16. Harry Rushton
17. Owen Trout
18. Seb Ikahihifo
19. Adam O’Brien
20. Oliver Wilson
21. Leroy Cudjoe
22. Harvey Livett
23. Oliver Russell
24. Sam Halsall
25. Innes Senior
26. Nathan Mason
27. Jack Ashworth
28. George Roby
29. Sam Hewitt
30. Fenton Rogers
31. Jack Bibby
32. Will Pryce
33. Kieran Rush
34. Aidan McGowan

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments