“He should be banned” – Sky Sports’ Terry O’Connor has say on Morgan Knowles appeal

Though the main story of this week has hinged on the Grand Final as St Helens take on Leeds Rhinos knowing that the winner will claim an unprecedented ninth Grand Final win as the Saints also chase a fourth title in a row, one of the game’s subplots has stolen much of the limelight.

That’s the saga surrounding Morgan Knowles who picked up a two-game ban for twisting Chris Atkin’s arm in St Helens’ semi-final win over Salford last week.

The Saints appealed the decision on Tuesday but were unsuccessful. However a second appeal over turned the ban after the Champions noticed a contradiction in the judge’s ruling when he said the arm hadn’t been put into an unnatural position.

They subsequently capitalised in a second appeal allowing Knowles – a member of the last four Dream Teams – to play in the final.

However, for former Wigan Warriors man and Sky Sports pundit Terry O’Connor, it’s clear that Knowles should be banned.

O’Connor, who will deliver the trophy on Saturday, praised Knowles as a player but said on Sky Sports today that he believes the loose-forward should be banned: “I think if you’re a player and you look at that and you see what happened, all day every day he should be banned. He’s got off on a technicality.

“He’s put Chris Atkin’s shoulder into a dangerous position, he got a two-game ban and he was out and it was apparently the judge’s ruling the first time they went to appeal it was why they got off it because he said he didn’t really put his shoulder into a dangerous position.

“I know Morgan, he’s not a dirty player, he’s a lovely lad. He knows he got off on a technicality and that he should be banned.

“The majority of the sport knows he should be banned.”

Nonetheless, Knowles will play and such a quality player is expected to have a big impact on proceedings.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
david fairclough
david fairclough
6 days ago

yes terry and chris atkin immediately after the tackle jumped up not hurt and took a drink with the so called injured arm yellow card was correct for delaying play the ball