Great Britain v New Zealand: Squads announced

Great Britain and New Zealand have both named their squads ahead of their clash in … on Saturday.

Both sides will be looking to bounce back from losses at the hands of Tonga and Australia respectively last week.

Great Britain

The Lions make three changes, two of which are enforced. Injuries to Oliver Gildart and Luke Thompson sees them both drop out, meaning Jake Connor and Tom Burgess both start, with Joe Philbin coming in on the bench. Lachlan Coote has also been dropped and is replaced by St Helens teammate Jonny Lomax. Blake Austin is forced to wait for his GB debut.

21-man squad: 1 Jonny Lomax, 2 Jermaine McGillvary, 3 Zak Hardaker, 4 Jake Connor, 5 Ryan Hall, 6 Gareth Widdop, 7 Jackson Hastings, 8 Chris Hill, 9 Josh Hodgson, 10 Tom Burgess, 11 John Bateman, 12 Elliott Whitehead, 13 James Graham (c), 14 Josh Jones, 15 Joe Philbin, 16 Daryl Clark, 17 Alex Walmsley, 18 Jack Hughes, 19 George Williams.

New Zealand

The big news from the Kiwi camp is the absence of maverick halfback Shaun Johnson, who is dropped after a poor performance against Australia. Kieran Foran comes in in his place, earning his first call-up in two years. Elsewhere, Braden Hamlin-Uele is replaced by Joseph Tapine, with Adam Blair moving to the bench as he earns his 50th international cap.

18-man squad: 1 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 2 Ken Maumalo, 3 Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, 4 Joseph Manu, 5 Jamayne Isaako, 6 Kieran Foran, 7 Benji Marshall (c), 8 Zane Tetevano, 9 Brandon Smith, 10 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, 11 Briton Nikora, 12 Kenny Bromwich, 13 Joseph Tapine, 14 Jahrome Hughes, 15 Corey Harawira-Naera, 16 Leeson Ah Mau, 17 Adam Blair, 18 Kevin Proctor.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments