Connect with us

Super League

Great Britain name training squad

Great Britain head coach Wayne Bennett has announced his Elite Performance Squad ahead of this Autumn’s tour of the Southern Hemisphere.

There are representatives from all four British regions, with 26 from England and one each representing Scotland, Wales and Ireland.

There are also two English players named from outside of the England Performance Squad, in the shape of Leeds winger and current Super League top try scorer Ash Handley and Salford forward Josh Jones.

Current Super League top try scorer Ash Handley has been selected.

Bennett was one of seven involved in the selection process, with team manager and former GB captain Jamie Peacock, assistant coaches Ian Watson and Danny Ward, and former GB tourists Paul Anderson, Paul Sculthorpe and Paul Wellens making up the panel.

The 29-man squad will meet in Leeds on Tuesday September 10, before training sessions commence during the Super League play-offs in early October.

The squad will then be cut to the final 24 within 48 hours of the Super League Grand Final on Saturday October 26.

England RL Aussie players

Bennett was part of a seven-man selection panel.

As well as the 29 named, Bennett has stressed that Great Britain’s NRL-based players will also be considered for the final 24-man squad: “As we’ve said since the return of the Great Britain team was announced at the start of the year, we have considered everyone who is eligible and puts themselves forward.

As well as this Performance Squad of players based in England and France, we’ve got another group of players based in the NRL to consider – and there’s still time for others who are eligible to impress and force their way in.”

St Helens forward Morgan Knowles is Wales’ sole representative.

Great Britain’s first appearance on the international stage since 2007 will be a first ever Test against Tonga in Hamilton, New Zealand on Saturday October 26.

That is followed by Tests against New Zealand on each of the next two Saturdays (at Auckland’s Eden Park on November 2, and Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch on November 9), before Great Britain conclude the tour in Port Moresby on November 16.

Great Britain 29-man Elite Performance Squad: 

Jake Trueman (Castleford Tigers, West Bowling)

Liam Watts (Castleford Tigers, Featherstone Lions)

Sam Tomkins (Catalans Dragons, Wigan St Patricks)

Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants, Deighton Juniors)

Jake Connor (Hull FC, Siddal)

Jamie Shaul (Hull FC, Skirlaugh)

Scott Taylor (Hull FC, Skirlaugh)

Ash Handley (Leeds Rhinos, Oulton Raiders)

Stevie Ward (Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Warriors)

Jonny Lomax (St Helens, Orrell St James)

Tommy Makinson (St Helens, Wigan St Judes)

Mark Percival (St Helens, Halton Farnworth Hornets)

James Roby (St Helens, Blackbrook)

Luke Thompson (St Helens, Bold Miners)

Alex Walmsley (St Helens, Dewsbury Celtic)

Morgan Knowles (St Helens – Wales)

Lachlan Coote (St Helens – Scotland)

Josh Jones (Salford Red Devils, Blackbrook Royals)

Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity, Ideal Isberg)

Blake Austin (Warrington Wolves, Doonside Roos)

Josh Charnley (Warrington Wolves, Wigan St Patricks)

Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves, Fryston Warriors)

Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves, New Springs Lions)

Jack Hughes (Warrington Wolves, Golborne Parkside)

Joe Philbin (Warrington Wolves, Culcheth Eagles)

Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves, Wigan St Patricks)

Oliver Gildart (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

George Williams (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League