Connect with us

More RL

Golden Boot Winner announced

New Zealand fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has won the Golden Boot award after an impressive year with the Kiwis.

The fullback had missed their 2018 series defeat against England, but came back stronger in 2019 and helped his side to an impressive three wins out of four.

He beat Kiwi teammate Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Tonga forward Siosiua Taukeiaho to the award.

Had any of these two had won it, it would have been historic for two reasons.

Firstly, it would have been the first time a forward had won the award in its history. And if Taukeiaho had won, it also would have been the first time a player from a non-tier one nation had won.

Meanwhile, Australia’s Jess Sergis won the Women’s award. She beat off competition from fellow Australian Ali Brigginshaw and England forward Emily Rudge to win the prestigious prize.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in More RL