Could Gareth Widdop become England’s first Dally M winner?

Gareth Widdop Dally M

When the official Dally M voting went behind closed doors at the end of Round 14, St George captain Gareth Widdop was in eighth place on 13 points.

The England international half-back was among the leaders early in the season but a knee injury put him on the sidelines for five weeks and he inevitably fell down the leaderboard.

However since returning, the Dragons skipper has picked up where he left off and after another man-of-the-match display against Newcastle on Sunday, he is in a good position to potentially become England’s first winner of the prestigious award.

Previous years has seen the likes of James Graham, Sam Burgess and Josh Hodgson challenge for the honour which rewards the competitions most consistent player, but they have all come up short.

Voting for the Dally M Medal utilises a 3, 2, 1 point allocation after each match, with 3 points awarded to the player the judge believed to have been the best on field, 2 points for the second best and 1 point for the third best.

The NRL’s official website has calculated what they believe the standings are at this stage with Widdop sitting joint second alongside Parramatta utility Clinton Gutherson.

Melbourne captain Cameron Smith leads the way still on 20 points – the same total he had after round 14 –according to the’s unofficial Dally M leaderboard.

Unofficial standings: Cameron Smith 20, Clinton Gutherson 16, Gareth Widdop 16, Mitchell Pearce 15, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck 15, Paul Gallen 14, Paul Vaughan 14, Wade Graham 14, Luke Keary 14, Billy Slater 13, Matt Moylan 13, Michael Morgan 13.