Connect with us

Super League

Five of the best Super League players to never win a Grand Final

Super League has always been awash with legendary players meaning some of them have never been blessed with winning the Grand Final.

So, here’s five of the best Super League players to never win the Grand Final.

Lee Briers
Lee Briers guided Warrington Wolves to back-to-back Grand Finals in 2012 and 2013 but had to suffer heartbreak in both finals as the Wolves lost to Leeds Rhinos and Wigan Warriors. The 2013 final would prove to be Briers’ last game and was the closest Warrington have come to Grand Final glory as they led 16-2 but injuries derailed their efforts. The Wolves arguably should have won the 2011 Grand Final having been the best team that season.

Ben Barba
Had Barba signed the five year deal St Helens offered him as revealed recently, he most likely would have lifted the Super League trophy but dispute being unplayable in the 2018 season and the latter half of 2017, he never tasted Grand Final glory.

Danny Brough
The 2013 Man of Steel was exceptional especially in his time at Huddersfield Giants. A Challenge Cup Final winner with Hull FC in 2005, he never had the chance to play in a Grand Final despite guiding Huddersfield to the League Leaders’ Shield in 2013 and the semi-finals in 2013 and 2015.

Trent Barrett
Exceptional in his time with Wigan Warriors, he took the struggling Warriors to within 80 minutes of the Grand Final in both 2007 and 2008 and was unlucky not to pick up the Man of Steel during his time in Super League.

Brett Hodgson
A NRL Grand Final winner in 2005, Hodgson was an instant hit in Super League winning the Man of Steel in 2009 as he took Huddersfield to their best ever finish at the time of third. He then joined Warrington Wolves turning them into the top team in the league for the final three years of his career but none of them yielded Grand Final glory.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League