Connect with us

Salford Red Devils

Ex-referees explains why cheeky Salford Red Devils try was ruled out for exploiting rules

Salford Red Devils

Former Super League referees Richard Silverwood and Ian Smith have taken to social media to explain why Salford Red Devils saw Chris Atkin’s try ruled out following a cheeky Marc Sneyd kick.

Salford Red Devils would go on to win 20-18 and complete the double over St Helens, however, it would have been far more comfortable had Jack Smith not ruled out the score late on in the first half. It’s not been explained by both former officials that it was the correct decision with Marc Sneyd viewed as trying to exploit the rules.

The Red Devils were awarded a penalty deep in the St Helens half and with the score 10-6, Marc Sneyd called for the kicking tee seemingly to knock it over and extend the score to a converted try lead. With the ball lined up on the tee and the Saints players deep in conversation as they reassessed how to get back into the game, Sneyd put his hand up as if signalling a corner in football and struck the ball 25 yards wide right to Chris Atkin.

Atkin claimed the ball from the air and strolled over without a defender in touching distance but Jack Smith and his officials quickly waved the score off, something that confused even Paul Rowley who admitted post-game that he was unaware it was against the rules.

Those rules have now been explained by Richard Silverwood and Ian Smith on social media after the pair received a barrage of questions about the incident that can be seen here.

QUIZ: Can you name these 10 ex-Super League players?

1 of 10


Referees reveal why Salford Red Devils score was chalked off

Salford Red Devils

Credit: Imago Images

Reacting to footage posted on social media, Richard Silverwood clarified the rules and claimed that he believed it to be the right decision.

Asked if it was at the ref’s direction, Silverwood said: “Refs discretion. Only seen it on phone. Looks pre planned so right decision”

Initial reactions to the footage had seen fans describe Sneyd’s attempt as incredibly obvious with his 91% conversion rate being noted by many as well as the incredible margin of the miss.

Another pointed out: “How often does Snead raise his arm before attempting a conversion? Kind of gives the game away.”

That deliberate intent to miss is why it was ruled out according to Ian Smith who highlighted the specific law that had been broken. In response to a fan arguing that the deception was deemed “ungentlemanly conduct”, Smith responded: “You are correct” with the following law attached.

It read: “Pretending to kick at goal – It shall be misconduct for a player to pretend to kick at goal from a penalty and then deliberately kick it elsewhere. Such misconduct shall incur a penalty. Once having informed the Referee of his intention to kick at goal from a penalty award the kicker shall not do otherwise.”

Salford Red Devils head coach Paul Rowley had explained he was unaware, joking that it must be: “Page 306, 2B or something is it?”

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Eric T Cat

    June 24, 2024 at 5:33 pm

    What if bext time he aims for the post, someone chases up, catches it from hitting the post and crashes over? Would a referee argue if say Mickey Lewis did it, then it’s an accident and try awarded, but if Marc Sneyd does it then it’s a penalty? What is the kicking percentage it would be classed as accidental?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Salford Red Devils