Melbourne Storm 2-11 Cronulla Sharks

Melbourne Storm 2-11 Cronulla Sharks


James Segeyaro scored the only try of the game as Cronulla ended¬†Melbourne’s unbeaten start with an 11-2 victory at AAMI Park.

In a repeat of last year’s Grand Final, the Sharks scored 11 unanswered second half points with Segeyaro’s try seven minutes from time securing the victory.

In the wet-weather conditions, the Storm were guilty of making too many errors but they did take a 2-0 advantage into half-time after a Cameron Smith penalty.

But Cronulla weren’t to be denied a repeat of their historic first-Premiership victory over Craig Bellamy’s men as they took control of the game in the final quarter.

Two penalties, one conversion and a drop-goal from James Maloney, combined with Segeyaro’s try, saw the Sharks prevail and inflict the first defeat of the season on their opponents.

The only try came after a neat grubber through from Segeyaro, Melbourne full-back Billy Slater was unable to grasp the ball and the former Leeds hooker touched down.

It was a night to forget for Slater who made several mistakes in the difficult conditions, with Segeyaro putting in his best performance yet for the Premiers and it came in English-like conditions.

Melbourne Storm

# Player Position Tries Goals Drop Goals Yellow Red Star Man
Josh Addo-CarrWing000000
Nelson Asofa-Solomona Second Row000000
Kenny Bromwich Prop000000
Will ChambersCentre000000
Cooper CronkScrum Half000000
Dale FinucaneSecond Row000000
Tim Glasby Prop000000
Ryley JacksScrum Half000000
Felise Kaufusi Prop000000
Billy SlaterFull Back000000
Cameron SmithHooker010000
Young TonumaipeaWing000000
Suliasi VunivaluWing000000
Jordan McLean Interchange000000
Mark Nicholls Interchange000000
Joe Stimson Interchange000000
Christian Welch Interchange000000
 Total 010000

Cronulla Sharks

# Player Position Tries Goals Drop Goals Yellow Red Star Man
Gerard BealeCentre000000
Jack BirdCentre000000
Jayden Brailey Hooker000000
Sosaia FekiWing000000
Andrew Fifita Prop000000
Paul GallenLoose Forward000000
Wade Graham Second Row000000
Valentine HolmesWing000000
Ricky LeuteleCentre000000
Luke Lewis Second Row000000
James MaloneyStand Off031000
Matt PriorSecond Row000000
Chad TownsendScrum Half000000
Chris Heighington Interchange000000
Jayson Bukuya Interchange000000
Jeremy Latimore Interchange000000
James Segeyaro Interchange100000
 Total 131000

Match Details

Date Time League Season Match Day
April 9, 2017 7:00 am NRL 2017 Sunday




Team1st half2nd halfFinal score
Melbourne Storm202
Cronulla Sharks01111