Melbourne Storm 14-12 Brisbane Broncos

Melbourne Storm 14-12 Brisbane Broncos


A late converted try gave Melbourne victory over Brisbane at AAMI Park on Billy Slater’s return to action.

The Broncos led 12-8 going into the final stages, but winger Josh Addo-Carr scored in the corner to level matters, before Cameron Smith nailed a touchline conversion to seal the 14-12 win.

Wayne Bennett’s team took the lead after 10 minutes when James Roberts pounced on a mistake to race 60m to score, but the Storm responded through a Ryley Jacks try.

Slater was given a standing ovation on his return to the field in the 28th minute as Smith kicked a penalty goal to give the hosts an 8-6 lead at the break.

In a match Melbourne had dominated, Brisbane came out for the second period looking more confident and Ben Hunt, who looks back to his best, showed great awareness as he found a gap in the defence to restore the Broncos lead.

Like they have done so many times before though, Craig Bellamy’s side found a way to win a close encounter as the ball ricocheted into the hands of Addo-Carr with five minutes to play and he went in to give Smith the chance to win it.

Win it he did, nailing the conversion from out wide to give Slater the perfect result on his long-awaited comeback as the Storm returned to the top of the ladder.

Melbourne Storm

# Player Position Tries Goals Drop Goals Yellow Red Star Man
Josh Addo-CarrWing100000
Cheyse BlairCentre000000
Jesse Bromwich Prop000000
Kenny BromwichProp000000
Will ChambersCentre000000
Cooper CronkScrum Half000000
Dale FinucaneSecond Row000000
Ryley JacksScrum Half100000
Felise Kaufusi Prop000000
Jordan McLean Prop000000
Cameron Munster Full Back000000
Cameron SmithHooker030001
Suliasi VunivaluWing000000
Nelson Asofa-Solomona Interchange000000
Tim Glasby Interchange000000
Billy Slater Interchange000000
Christian Welch Interchange000000
 Total 230001

Brisbane Broncos

# Player Position Tries Goals Drop Goals Yellow Red Star Man
Adam Blair Prop000000
Darius BoydFull Back000000
Matt GillettSecond Row000000
Ben HuntScrum Half100000
Jordan KahuWing020000
Andrew McCulloughHooker000000
Josh McGuire Prop000000
Anthony MilfordStand Off000000
Corey OatesWing000000
James RobertsCentre100000
Sam ThaidayProp000000
Korbin Sims Prop000000
Tautau Moga Centre000000
Jai Arrow Interchange000000
Herman Ese’ese Interchange000000
Alex Glenn Interchange000000
Benji Marshall Interchange000000
 Total 220000

Match Details

Date Time League Season Match Day
March 16, 2017 9:05 am NRL 2017 Thursday




Team1st halfExtra timeFinal score
Melbourne Storm8614
Brisbane Broncos6612

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *