Connect with us


England star named in NRL Team of the Decade

Rugby League mistake

England and South Sydney Rabbitohs star Sam Burgess has been named in the NRL Team of the Decade.

The line-up consists of the best players to play in the NRL over the past 10 years and includes the likes of Jonathan Thurston, Cameron Smith and Greg Inglis.

It was chosen by an illustrious judging panel of former players and coaches: Wally Lewis, Mal Meninga, Phil Gould, Andrew Johns, Bob Fulton, Laurie Daley, Ryan Girdler, Danny Buderus, Gordon Tallis, Mark Graham, Trent Barrett, Craig Bellamy, Ricky Stuart, Brett Kimmorley, Geoff Toovey, Darren Lockyer, Jamie Soward, Peter Sterling, Kevin Walters, Trent Robinson, Craig Wing, Steve Renouf and Ben Ikin.

Former Bradford Bulls forward Burgess has been named in the back row alongside New South Wales Origin captain Boyd Cordner and Tongan enforcer Jason Taumalolo.

He moved to Australia in 2010 and has since made 172 appearances for the Rabbitohs in two spells.

The team in full is:

1 Billy Slater, 2 Jarryd Hayne, 3 Justin Hodges, 4 Greg Inglis, 5 Brett Morris, 6 Jonathan Thurston, 7 Cooper Cronk, 8 Matthew Scott, 9 Cameron Smith, 10 Jesse Bromwich, 11 Boyd Cordner, 12 Sam Burgess, 13 Jason Taumalolo. Subs: 14 Paul Gallen, 15 Sonny Bill Williams, 16 Luke Lewis, 17 Jamie Lyon.

Fellow Englishman and former St Helens captain James Graham was also in contention, and has been named in the ‘Team of the Decade 2nd XIII’.

The 33-year-old made the switch down under in 2021 and has gone on to play over 150 games for Canterbury and St George.

The 2nd XIII has been named as follows:

1 James Tedesco, 2 Sem Radradra, 3 Will Chambers, 4 Steve Matai, 5 Valentine Holmes, 6 Cameron Munster, 7 James Maloney, 8 James Graham, 9 Michael Morgan, 10 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, 11 Wade Graham, 12 Sam Thaiday, 13 Corey Parker. Subs: 14 Andrew Fifita, 15 Jake Trbojevic, 16 Tom Trbojevic, 17 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in NRL