Decision on Championship spot imminent

The club that will be promoted to the Championship will be revealed on Thursday 10 December at 2pm.

There is a space available in the Championship following news Toronto Wolfpack’s application to rejoin the Super League was rejected.

As a result, one of either Toulouse, York City Knights, Leigh Centurions, Featherstone Rovers, London Broncos or Bradford Bulls will play in the top tier next year.

Five clubs have applied for the vacant Championship spot – Barrow Raiders, Doncaster, Newcastle Thunder, Rochdale Hornets and Workington Town.

A five-strong panel, chaired by former RFL President Air Commodore Dean Andrew OBE, will complete assessments this week.

Andrew said: We have adopted a process similar to the one for deciding which Betfred Championship club will play in Super League in 2021 and we have been very impressed by the quality and honesty of the submissions.

“I’d like to thank all five clubs for engaging so enthusiastically with this process in such a relatively short space of time.

“All five applications reflect well on the business acumen, enthusiasm, ambition and realism that exists in League 1. One club will be a fabulous addition to the Betfred Championship; the other four are already raising the bar on what will be a very competitive League 1 next season.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments