Decision made on Konrad Hurrell as St Helens prepare for Catalans Dragons

Friday night sees Catalans Dragons play host to St Helens with a spot in the Grand Final at Old Trafford being the prize on offer and a chance to face either Wigan Warriors or Hull KR.

The clash is a repeat of the 2021 Grand Final of which Saints won 12-10 however this is a much-changed St Helens side with their point scorers that night, Lachlan Coote and Kevin Naiqama, no longer with the club.

Friday night could also see a changing of the guard among the current squad as it could well be the final ever game for James Roby and Louie McCarthy Scarsbrook, both of whom will retire at the end of the current season.

Whether Saints or Catalans win in Perpignan on Friday night it will mark the final ever game for one of Super League’s greats as Dragons’ stand-off Sam Tomkins is also set to retire, meaning one of Roby or Tomkins will get their ‘Last Dance’ at Old Trafford and the other’s career will sadly end on Friday.

It also could be the final game representing Les Dracs for many other players with Mitchell Pearce also set to retire whilst Mikael Goudemand, Adam Keighran, Tyrone May and Matt Whitley are all confirmed as leaving the Gilbert Brutus at the end of the season.

Neither team enter the game with any suspension issues after Saints star Alex Walmsley avoided a ban for his high shot against Warrington Wolves last week, whereas the Dragons are coming off a bye week themselves.

Steve McNamara made just one change to his side with prop Siua Taukeiaho replacing winger Fouad Yaha.

Saints will be without long term injury Agnatius Paasi with the key fitness test surrounding Konrad Hurrell who had played for the reserves last week to get some minutes into his legs.

Paul Wellens has now named his squad and made a decision on Hurrell with the Tongan set to feature having been named in the 21-man squad.

Joe Batchelor limped off in their victory over Warrington and he unfortunately misses out alongside Dan Norman with Matthew Foster and George Delaney taking their places.

It’s a major boost to have Delaney back with the young forward having previously been suspended.

St Helens 21-man squad

1. Jack Welsby

2. Tommy Makinson

3. Will Hopoate

4. Mark Percival

5. Jon Bennison

6. Jonny Lomax

7. Lewis Dodd

8. Alex Walmsley

9. James Roby

10. Matty Lees

11. Sione Mata’utia

13. Morgan Knowles

15. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook

16. Curtis Sironen

19. James Bell

21. Ben Davies

22. Sam Royle

23. Konrad Hurrell

28. Matthew Foster

30. George Delaney

35. Moses Mbye

Catalans Dragons 21-man Squad

1. Arthur MOURGUE
6. Tyrone MAY
7. Mitchell PEARCE
8. Mike McMEEKEN
9. Micky McILORUM
10. Julian BOUSQUET
11. Matt WHITLEY
12. Paul SÉGUIER
13. Benjamin GARCIA
14. Alrix DA COSTA
16. Romain NAVARRETE
18. Tiaki CHAN
19. Arthur ROMANO
21. Matt IKUVALU
23. Jordan DEZARIA
26. Manu MA’U