Connect with us

Rugby League News

Cronulla Sharks halfback wins Dally M Medal with record points total

Cronulla Sharks halfback Nicho Hynes has won the 2022 Dally M Medal – and breaks the record for the highest individual score in the history of the award!

Hynes scored 38 points, five more than the previous record holder James Tedesco when he won it in 2019.

He is also the first Sharks player to win the award since Preston Campbell in 2001.

James Tedesco came second in the awards with 33 points, and Ben Hunt of St George Illawarra Dragons received 32 points.

At the awards ceremony, NRL CEO Andrew Abdo said: “The Dally M’s are about the players. Millions of fans watch the premierships because of them. Kids grow up wanting to play because of them.

“Tonight, we have celebrated the spirit of rugby league encapsulated by the male and female athletes who make our sport great.”

Hynes also received the Provan-Summons medal, for his post-match interview talking about mental health following the passing of the late Paul Green.

Hynes will be looking to finish the year with a World Cup win with his Australia side.

The Kangaroos are in a group with Fiji, Scotland and Italy and play their first match against the Fijians at Headingley on Saturday 15th October.

With regards to the other awards presented on the night, Panthers skipper Isiah Yeo won the ‘captain of the year’, and Cowboys boss Todd Payten won the ‘Coach of the Year’.

Sydney Roosters’ halfback, Raecene McGregor won the NRLW Dally M Medal.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News