Connect with us

Rugby League News

Championship Young Player of the Year seemingly receives squad number for 2023 Super League campaign

Wakefield Trinity socials team have been revealing squad numbers one per day throughout the month of December, replicating that of an advent calendar, however Trin failed to post their number 25 on Christmas Day, the 25th obviously.

This led some to think that they wouldn’t have a number 25 for the 2023 season however it seems that Wakefield just missed the reveal as youngster Sam Eseh is donning the 25 shirt in their traditional Boxing Day match against Leeds Rhinos.

Eseh had been given the number 25 for Trinity last season before his loan switch to Featherstone Rovers in March, where he went on to perform exceptionally and eventually was awarded as Young Player of the year in the division.

The big-hitting prop has returned and is set to feature in Mark Applegarth’s first season in charge having being handed the start today in the Boxing Day friendly.

With Eseh now seemingly receiving his number it seems that Trinity are almost complete for the upcoming season having already announced their first 24 players featuring their four new signings Kevin Proctor, Samisoni Langi, Reni Atoni and Morgan Smith with the latter two both featuring today.

Trinity will have Max Jowitt wearing number one, Jorge Taufua at two with Tom Lineham beating star youngster Lewis Murphy to the number five shirt who both beat Murphy to the shirts.

Ex-Leeds Rhinos man Corey Hall takes three with Reece Lyne, the former Hull FC centre who is celebrating a testimonial, keeps four with new signing Samisoni Langi overlooked.

Speaking of overlooking new signings, Morgan Smith missed out on six with former Huddersfield Giants halfback Lee Gaskell taking on six having worn 17 last year.

Mason Lino has kept seven whilst Eddie Battye was yesterday confirmed as keeping the number eight also ahead of Atoni.

Battye took on the eight shirt left by David Fifita who in his last season moved back to 35 last year.

Battye will now keep it again in 2023 with Jai Whitbread taking Tinirau Arona’s number 10 in 2023 whilst Liam Hood has kept nine.

Ashurst has kept 11 with Kelepi Tanginoa still at 12 and Jay Pitts at 13 all of whom have beaten new signing Kevin Proctor to their respective squad numbers.

Jordy Crowther has also kept 14 and Liam Kay has moved up to 15.

Ex-Hull FC man Josh Bowden will wear the number 16 shirt and Renouf Atoni was the first new signing to receive a shirt number at 17 and Lee Kershaw remains at 18.

New signings Kevin Proctor (19), Morgan Smith (20) and Samisoni Langi (21) all have squad numbers now whilst Rob Butler will wear number 22, young winger Lewis Murphy (23) and fellow youngster Harry Bowes wearing 24.

Here’s their confirmed squad numbers for 2023:

1 Max Jowitt
2 Jorge Taufua
3 Corey Hall
4 Reece Lyne
5 Tom Lineham
6 Lee Gaskell
7 Mason Lino
8 Eddie Battye
9 Liam Hood
10 Jai Whitbread
11 Matty Ashurst
12 Kelepi Tanginoa
13 Jay Pitts
14 Jordy Crowther
15 Liam Kay
16 Josh Bowden
17 Renouf Atoni
18 Lee Kershaw
19 Kevin Proctor
20 Morgan Smith
21 Samisoni Langi
22 Rob Butler
23 Lewis Murphy
24 Harry Bowes

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News