Connect with us

Rugby League News

Championship side reveal squad numbers for 2023 under new look regime

York City Knights are set to feature in their first pre-season game this weekend as they travel to Doncaster and in time for the game they’ve made sure to release their 2023 squad numbers.

The Knights will be under new management and coaching for 2023 with former boss James Ford having linked up with Mark Applegarth at Wakefield trinity.

As a result Andrew Henderson has taken charge and it was announced yesterday that Ireland boss Ged Corcoran would be joining on as an assistant as the Knights push for the playoffs again.

The Knights released the squad numbers via their website with the following statement.

“Long-serving full-back Matty Marsh, who is closing in on 100 York appearances, has retained the number 1 shirt while winger Joe Brown and centre James Glover remain wearing numbers 2 and 3 respectively.

“New recruit Jesse Dee has inherited the 4 jersey while fellow off-season signings Jon Luke Kirby and Conor Fitzsimmons have been awarded numbers 8 and 10 respectively by Head Coach Andrew Henderson.

“Close-season additions Josh Daley (19), Ukuma Ta’ai (21) and Harry Price (27) have also learnt their Knights squad numbers.

“After a breakthrough 2022 season, in which he was nominated for the Betfred Championship Young Player of the Year award, winger AJ Towse has been promoted from 23 to 5.

“Half-backs Ata Hingano and Liam Harris, who previously wore 35 and 19 respectively, now hold numbers 6 and 7.

“Hooker Will Jubb and back-row pair Chris Clarkson and Jordan Thompson keep the 9, 11 and 13 shirts respectively. Danny Kirmond moves from 17 to 12.

“There are also promotions for Myles Harrison (15), Bailey Antrobus (16) and Ronan Michael (17).

“The 18 shirt remains placed in loving memory of our York RLFC fans.”

York Knights 2023 squad numbers:

1: Matty Marsh
2: Joe Brown
3: James Glover
4: Jesse Dee
5: AJ Towse
6: Ata Hingano
7: Liam Harris
8: Jon Luke Kirby
9: Will Jubb
10: Conor Fitzsimmons
11: Chris Clarkson
12: Danny Kirmond
13: Jordan Thompson
14: Brendan O’Hagan
15: Myles Harrison
16: Bailey Antrobus
17: Ronan Michael
18: In loving memory of York fans
19: Josh Daley
20: Jack Teanby
21: Ukuma Ta’ai
22: Pauli Pauli
23: Olly Butterworth
24: Ben Barnard
25: Brad Ward
26: Jamie Ellis
27:Harry Price

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News