Connect with us


Challenge Cup Quiz: Name the winners from every year 1996-2023

Challenge Cup quiz

In this Challenge Cup quiz, we test your knowledge to see if you can name all the winners of the competition in the summer era.

Since the launch of Super League in 1996, the Challenge Cup has predominantly taken place in either May or August.

Despite the success of the Super League Grand Final, the Challenge Cup Final is still ranked highly in the British game as one of only two major trophies on offer.

It is of course the oldest rugby league competition on the planet and for many the opportunity to play in the showpiece event, often at Wembley, is the pinnacle of the game in the UK.

In the summer era, the majority of finals have continued to take place at Wembley, with the national stadium knocked down and rebuilt in that time as St Helens and Catalans Dragons competed in the first final under the new arch.

While the stadium was under development, finals took place at Murrayfield, Millennium Stadium and Twickenham, with the 2022 final held at the newly built Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, as the sport mixed things up for a year.

As mentioned, despite this, Wembley still remains the home of the Challenge Cup Final and we have witnessed some fantastic games there in recent seasons, none more so than the 2023 finale, with the final going to golden point extra time.

With this in mind, we want to test your knowledge of Challenge Cup Finals in this ultimate Challenge Cup Final quiz. Take the quiz below and see if you can name all the winners of the competition since 1996.

Challenge Cup Quiz: Name all the winners since 1996

1 of 28
Leigh Leopards lift the Challenge Cup trophy after victory over Hull Kingston Rovers in the final


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Quizzes