Challenge Cup Final and 1895 Cup Final referees announced

James Child has been appointed as referee for the 2022 Betfred Challenge Cup Final between Huddersfield Giants and Wigan Warriors at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on Saturday. 

It will be the 38-year-old’s first Challenge Cup Final appointment, in his 13th season in the RFL’s Full-Time Match Officials Panel – and he joins the select group to have refereed both a Challenge Cup Final and the Super League Grand Final, having taken charge of the latter in 2017.

He has been Touch Judge in five previous Challenge Cup Finals, all at Wembley, and Video Referee in two Finals.

“It is an honour to be appointed to referee the 2022 Betfred Challenge Cup Final,” he said.

“The Challenge Cup is so special to many Rugby League fans and the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium looks to be an amazing venue for such a prestigious event.”

Steve Ganson, the RFL’s Head of Match Officials, said: “On behalf of the Match Officials Department, I’m proud to announce James Child as the referee for the 2022 Challenge Cup Final at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium. This is the first Challenge Cup Final for James as referee and he is thoroughly deserving of the appointment after a strong start to 2022. James has a strong team of officials around him who we know will perform to a high level come Saturday in London.”

Johnny Roberts and Jack Smith will be Touch Judges, with Chris Kendall appointed as Video Referee.

Liam Moore has been appointed as referee for the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final between Featherstone Rovers and Leigh Centurions, which will also be played at Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday, kicking off at midday.

Andy Smith and Neil Horton will be touch judges. Dean Bowmer and Richard Thompson are in goal judges, with no video referee.

Betfred Challenge Cup Final- Huddersfield Giants v Wigan Warriors

Referee- James Child

Touch Judge- Johnny Roberts

Touch Judge- Jack Smith

Video Referee- Chris Kendall

Reserve Referee- Tom Grant

Reserve Touch Judge- Warren Turley

Match Commissioner- Steve Williams

Time Keeper- Nick Hope

AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final- Featherstone Rovers v Leigh Centurions

Referee- Liam Moore

Touch Judge- Andy Smith

Touch Judge- Neil Horton

Reserve Referee- Marcus Griffiths

Reserve Touch Judge- Mike Smaill

In Goal- Dean Bowmer

In Goal- Richard Thompson

Match Commissioner- Phil Smith

Time Keeper- Keith Leyland

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments