Catalans v Wigan: Squads Announced

Catalans and Wigan have both announced their 21-man squads for Saturday evening’s fixture at the Stade Gilbert Brutus (KO 5:00pm UK time).

The game will be the first Super League fixture to host a crowd since before the Covid-19 lockdown, with 5,000 spectators to be allowed to watch the game live from the stands due to restrictions on gatherings being less strict in France than in the UK.

Catalans were due to welcome Leeds to Perpignan last Monday, but saw the match postponed after three Dragons players tested positive for coronavirus following their Challenge Cup win over Wakefield.

The French side actually enter the game as league leaders despite playing three games less than their opponents, after it was announced earlier this week that the table standings will now be decided by points percentage as opposed to regular league points.

Wigan, meanwhile, will be looking to bounce back after they were stunned by 11th-placed Hull KR last week, losing 34-18.

Catalans Dragons

Lewis Tierney returns for the Dragons to face the club he made his professional debut for. He’s one of three new inclusions, joining Lucas Albert, Samisoni Langi and Julian Bousquet. They replace David Mead, Josh Drinkwater, Michael McIlorum and Tom Davies.

21-man squad: 2 Lewis Tierney, 3 Samisoni Langi, 4 Israel Folau, 5 Fouad Yaha, 6 James Maloney, 8 Remi Casty, 11 Matt Whitley, 12 Joel Tomkins, 13 Benjamin Garcia, 14 Julian Bousquet, 17 Benjamin Jullien, 18 Alrix Da Costa, 19 Mickael Goudemand, 20 Lucas Albert, 22 Arthur Romano, 23 Antoni Maria, 24 Jason Baitieri, 25 Arthur Morgue, 26 Lambert Belmas, 28 Sam Kasiano, 29 Sam Tomkins.

Wigan Warriors

The Warriors are boosted by the return of captain Sean O’Loughlin, who has been out since February with a hamstring injury. Forward trio Ethan Havard, George Burgess and Joe Bullock also come back into contention, replacing Ben Flower, who is suspensded, Liam Byrne, Chris Hankinson and Amir Bourouh.

21-man squad: 1 Zak Hardaker, 4 Oliver Gildart, 5 Joe Burgess, 6 Bevan French, 7 Thomas Leuluai, 9 Sam Powell, 10 George Burgess, 11 Willie Isa, 12 Liam Farrell, 13 Sean O’Loughlin, 15 Joe Greenwood, 17 Ollie Partington, 19 Joe Bullock, 21 Dom Manfredi, 22 Mitch Clark, 23 Jake Bibby, 28 Harry Smith, 29 Jack Wells, 30 Ethan Havard, 31 Jackson Hastings, 33 Joe Shorrocks.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments