Catalans v Wakefield: Squads Announced

Catalans and Wakefield have both announced their 21-man squads for Saturday afternoon’s Challenge Cup Round 6 fixture at the John Smith’s Stadium (KO 2:30pm).

The Dragons and Trinity were two of four teams drawn to play in Round 6, with the remaining clubs receiving a bye to the quarter-finals after five Championship teams, and Toronto, withdrew from the competition.

The game was set to be part of a double header with Hull FC v Castleford, however after after last week’s revelation that 12 members of the Black and Whites’ playing and backroom staff tested positive for Covid-19, that game was postponed after Hull’s players had to self-isolate for 10 days.

In Round 5, Wakefield scraped past Bradford to win 17-14, while Catalans were one of eight Super League teams set to enter the competition in Round 6. This weekend’s game is a replay of last week’s Super League fixture, which the Dragons won 58-0.

Catalans Dragons

Israel Folau is set to return for the Dragons after missing last week’s win to attend the birth of his child. Sam Tomkins and Sam Moa miss out through suspension, while Samisoni Langi and Julian Bousquet both picked up injuries against Trinity. They’re replaced by Mickael Goudemand, Paul Seguier, Arthur Romano and Lambert Belmas.

21-man squad: 1 David Mead, 4 Israel Folau, 5 Fouad Yaha, 6 James Maloney, 7 Josh Drinkwater, 8 Remi Casty, 9 Michael McIlorum, 11 Matt Whitley, 12 Joel Tomkins, 13 Benjamin Garcia, 16 Tom Davies, 17 Benjamin Jullien, 18 Alrix Da Costa, 19 Mickael Goudemand, 21 Paul Seguier, 22 Arthur Romano, 23 Antoni Maria, 24 Jason Baitieri, 25 Arthur Morgue, 26 Lambert Belmas, 28 Sam Kasiano.

Wakefield Trinity

Innes Senior could make his Trinity debut after signing on loan from Huddersfield. Young halfback Connor Bailey has also been included by Chris Chester and will compete with Jacob Miller, Ryan Hampshire and Max Jowitt for a spot in the starting side. Liam Kay and Tony Gigot both drop out as they are both Cup-tied.

21-man squad: 1 Alex Walker, 3 Bill Tupou, 6 Jacob Miller, 8 David Fifita, 9 Kyle Wood, 10 Tinirau Arona, 11 Matty Ashurst, 12 Danny Kirmond, 13 Joe Westerman, 14 Jay Pitts, 15 Craig Kopczak, 16 James Batchelor, 18 Adam Tangata, 19 Jordy Crowther, 21 Max Jowitt, 24 Jack Croft, 29 Ryan Hampshire, 31 Connor Bailey, 36 Kelepi Tanginoa, 37 Romain Navarrete, 40 Innes Senior.