Connect with us

Super League

Catalans v Wakefield: 21-man squad, injury update and TV details

Catalans and Wakefield have both announced their 21-man squads for Saturday evening’s Challenge Cup Third Round fixture at the Totally Wicked Stadium (KO 5:00pm).

The Dragons have enjoyed a successful start to the season, snatching a 29-28 win over Hull KR in Round One, before beating Huddersfield 20-10.

It’s been two years since they upset Warrington to win their first title at Wembley, having crashed out at the quarter-final stage in 2019 and 2020.

Trinity, meanwhile, haven’t been victorious in the competition since 1963, with their last trip to the national stadium coming in 1979 when they lost to Widnes.

After successive defeats in their first two games, it’s safe to say they’ll be underdogs on going into this weekend.

The game will be available to watch on BBC Two, with coverage starting from 4:30pm.

Catalans Dragons

Steve McNamara remains without Michael McIlorum and Joel Tomkins through suspension, while Mickael Goudemand and Arthur Romano are out injured. There’s two changes to the 21, with 6ft8 back rower Corentin Le Cam and forward Jordan Dezaria, who this week signed a full-time contract with the club, replacing Lambert Belmas and Joe Chan.

21-man squad: 1 Arthur Mourgue, 2 Tom Davies, 3 Samisoni Langi, 4 Dean Whare, 5 Fouad Yaha, 6 James Maloney, 7 Josh Drinkwater, 8 Gil Dudson, 10 Julian Bousquet, 11 Matt Whitley, 12 Mike McMeeken, 13 Benjamin Garcia, 14 Alrix Da Costa, 15 Benjamin Jullien, 16 Paul Seguier, 20 Mathieu Laguerre, 21 Corentin Le Cam, 24 Jason Baitieri, 28 Sam Kasiano, 29 Sam Tomkins, 30 Jordan Dezaria.

Wakefield Trinity

The big news for Trinity is that fullback Max Jowitt has recovered from an ankle injury and is in line for his first action of the season, replacing Brad Walker. Eddie Battye (calf) was a chance to return but hasn’t made the squad, while Kyle Wood (calf) also remains unavailable.

21-man squad: 1 Max Jowitt, 2 Tom Johnstone, 3 Bill Tupou, 4 Reece Lyne, 5 Liam Kay, 6 Jacob Miller, 7 Mason Lino, 8 David Fifita, 10 Tinirau Arona, 11 Matty Ashurst, 12 Kelepi Tanginoa, 13 Joe Westerman, 14 Jay Pitts, 16 James Batchelor, 17 Chris Green, 18 Innes Senior, 19 Jordy Crowther, 20 Joe Arundel, 22 Adam Tangata, 23 Josh Wood, 29 Ryan Hampshire.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League