Connect with us

Super League

Catalans v Huddersfield: 21-man squads and injury update

Right now, it’s almost impossible to find two teams with more contrasting fortunes than Catalans and Huddersfield, yet the two sides are set to meet this weekend in a game that means little to both sides.

The Dragons come into the contest having secured a first ever League Leaders’ Shield just 15 years after making their Super League debut back in 2006. All that remains for them in the regular season is building momentum for the play-offs.

As for Huddersfield, their season hasn’t met expectations. That’s down to a series of injuries as well as the remodelling of the squad in Ian Watson’s image which will continue into 2022. This game means little to them in terms of their season but a shock win could set them up nicely for 2022.


It seems Steve McNamara doesn’t want to take any chances after wrapping up the League Leaders’ Shield last week. The Dragons will be without Samisoni Langi, Fouad Yaha, Julian Bousquet, Mike McMeeken, Joel Tomkins, Sam Kasiano and Sam Tomkins for a variety of reasons. He does welcome back the likes of Benjamin Jullien, Paul Seguer and Jason Baitieri however. For them, this is a chance to push for a place in McNamara’s play-off side.

21-man squad:1 Arthur Mourgue, 2 Tom Davies, 4 Dean Whare, 6 James Maloney, 7 Josh Drinkwater, 8 Gil Dudson, 9 Michael McIlorum, 11 Matt Whitley, 15 Benjamin Jullien, 16 Paul Seguier, 20 Matthieu Laguerre, 21 Corentin Le Cam, 23 Mathieu Cozza, 24 Jason Baitieri, 30 Jordan Dezaria, 31 Cesar Rouge, 32 Romain Franco, 33 Florian Vailhen, 34 Tiaki Chan, 35 Robin Brochon.


The Giants haven’t made nearly as many changes but have dropped Lee Gaskell and Sam Wood out of the 21. Wood was a try scorer in the Magic Weekend defeat to Wakefield so his loss will hurt the Giants. Their absence has resulted in Huddersfield naming just a 19-man squad which has been the story of their season. That said, despite their injuries they still have plenty of options in the spine including Olly Ashall-Bott, Ashton Golding, Jack Cogger, Oliver Russell and Will Pryce.

19-man squad: 1 Ashton Golding, 2 Jermaine McGillvary, 3 Jake Wardle, 4 Ricky Leutele, 10 Michael Lawrence, 13 Josh Jones, 14 Matty English, 15 Joe Greenwood, 16 Jack Cogger, 17 Chris McQueen, 20 Oliver Wilson, 21 Leroy Cudjoe, 23 Oliver Russell, 24 Louis Senior, 25 Owen Trout, 31 Olly Ashall-Bott, 32 Will Pryce, 34 Nathaniel Peteru, 35 Nathan Peats.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League