Connect with us

Super League

Castleford v Warrington: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Castleford and Warrington have both announced their 21-man squads for Sunday afternoon’s Round One fixture at Headingley Stadium (KO 2:45pm).

The Tigers come into the game on the back of the news that 2021 will be Daryl Powell’s final season in charge of the club.

Powell has spent the past eight years as head coach, leading them to Super League and Challenge Cup finals, and will be hoping to leave on a high note.

The Wolves are in a similar situation, with Steve Price also departing at the end of the season.

All eyes, though, will be on high-profile recruit Greg Inglis, with the former Australian World Cup winner and NRL great set to make his Super League debut after 18 months out of the game.

The game will be available to watch on Sky Sports Arena and Sky Sports Mix, with coverage starting from 2:30pm.

Castleford Tigers

The Tigers are without four key players ahead of round one, with Sosaia Feki (achilles), Suaia Matagi (calf), James Clare (knee) and Alex Foster (bicep) ruled out. Danny Richardson is set to face a late fitness test after missing the pre-season friendly against Hull KR. Liam Watts, Greg Eden and George Griffin also sat out that game but are set to be involved on Sunday.

21-man squad: 1 Niall Evalds, 2 Derrell Olpherts, 3 Peter Mata’utia, 4 Michael Shenton, 6 Jake Trueman, 7 Danny Richardson, 8 Liam Watts, 9 Paul McShane, 10 Grant Millington, 11 Oliver Holmes, 12 Cheyse Blair, 13 Adam Milner, 14 Nathan Massey, 15 George Griffin, 18 Jacques O’Neill, 19 Tyla Hepi, 21 Jesse Sene-Lefao, 22 Daniel Smith, 23 Greg Eden, 25 Jordan Turner, 31 Gaz O’Brien.

Warrington Wolves

As expected, superstar signing Greg Inglis doesn’t make the Wolves’ squad as he continues to build up fitness after over a year out of the game. He’s joined on the sidelines by Matt Davis (hamstring) and Sitaleki Akauola. Blake Austin makes the side despite picking up a knock to his knee in the friendly against Leigh, while Mike Cooper and Jack Hughes also return after not featuring during pre-season.

21-man squad: 1 Stefan Ratchford, 2 Tom Lineham, 4 Toby King, 5 Josh Charnley, 6 Blake Austin, 7 Gareth Widdop, 8 Chris Hill, 9 Daryl Clark, 10 Mike Cooper, 11 Ben Currie, 12 Jack Hughes, 13 Joe Philbin, 14 Jason Clark, 16 Danny Walker, 17 Matty Ashton, 18 Jake Mamo, 19 Rob Mulhern, 21 Rob Butler, 22 Ellis Robson, 23 Josh Thewlis, 27 Connor Wrench.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League