Connect with us

Super League

Castleford v Salford: 21-man squads and injury update

Castleford and Salford have both announced their 21-man squads for Sunday afternoon’s round 14 fixture at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle (KO 3:30pm).

The Tigers’ last two games have been decided without them actually stepping onto the field, with a 24-0 forfeit loss to St Helens two weeks ago, before a 24-0 forfeit win against Huddersfield, both due to issues around player availability.

Their last actual match was a 16-6 home defeat to Catalans.

The Red Devils have also been out of action for two weeks, with a COVID-19 outbreak at the club postponing games against Wakefield and Hull FC.

They currently sit 11th in Super League, with just two wins in 11 games so far this season.

Castleford Tigers

Castleford make a raft of changes ahead of next week’s Challenge Cup final, with the likes of Niall Evalds, Derrell Olpherts, Adam Milner, Nathan Massey, George Griffin and Jacques O’Neill dropping out. Grant Millington, Cheyse Blair and Greg Eden return in their place, while Daryl Powell has called up academy quartet Caelum Jordan, Jack Sadler, Adam Rusling and Nathan Magee. Gareth O’Brien (leg), Jake Trueman and Sosaia Feki (achilles) remain out injured.

21-man squad: 4 Michael Shenton, 7 Danny Richardson, 8 Liam Watts, 10 Grant Millington, 11 Oliver Holmes, 12 Cheyse Blair, 17 Alex Foster, 19 Tyla Hepi, 20 James Clare, 21 Jesse Sene-Lefao, 23 Greg Eden, 26 Lewis Bienek, 27 Lewis Peachey, 28 Brad Martin, 29 Sam Hall, 32 Cain Robb, 33 Jason Qareqare, 34 Caelum Jordan, 35 Jack Sadler, 36 Adam Rusling, 37 Nathan Magee.

Salford Red Devils

Salford name just 17 players, with Tui Lolohea, Elijah Taylor, Danny Addy, Sam Luckley and Connor Aspey dropping out. Warrington loanees Ellis Robson and Nathan Roebuck are also unavailable due to the Wolves’ COVID-19 problems, however Ben Davies and Dan Norman are included after joining on temporary deals from St Helens. There’s still no Lee Mossop (suspended), Joe Burgess (suspended), Jack Wells (suspended), Kallum Watkins (knee), Kevin Brown (lower limb), Sebastine Ikahihifo, Dan Sarginson, James Greenwood or Ata Hingano.

17-man squad: 1 Morgan Escare, 2 Ken Sio, 4 Krisnan Inu, 9 Andy Ackers, 11 Ryan Lannon, 12 Pauli Pauli, 15 Oliver Roberts, 16 Greg Burke, 17 Josh Johnson, 18 Chris Atkin, 20 Harvey Livett, 22 Rhys Williams, 24 Matty Costello, 25 Jack Ormondroyd, 29 Dec Patton, 31 Ben Davies, Dan Norman.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League