Castleford v Leigh: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Castleford and Leigh have both announced their 21-man squads for Friday evening’s Super League third round clash at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle (KO 6:00pm).

Last week’s extraordinary 99th-minute golden point victory over Hull KR in the Challenge Cup means the Tigers remain unbeaten so far in 2021.

Opening round victories over Warrington and Leeds see them sit fourth in the table.

The Centurions are one of five clubs yet to register a league win, while they were also knocked out of the Challenge Cup with a 36-18 defeat to Huddersfield.

The game will be available to watch for free for season ticket holders via the Our League app.

Castleford Tigers

There’s just one change for the Tigers, with young forward Sam Hall included for the first time this season in place of Danny Richardson. Sosaia Feki (achilles), Suaia Matagi (calf), James Clare (knee), Alex Foster (bicep) and Jacques O’Neill remain unavailable, while Niall Evalds keeps his place after missing out last week.

21-man squad: 1 Niall Evalds, 2 Derrell Olpherts, 3 Peter Mata’utia, 4 Michael Shenton, 6 Jake Trueman, 8 Liam Watts, 9 Paul McShane, 10 Grant Millington, 11 Oliver Holmes, 12 Cheyse Blair, 13 Adam Milner, 14 Nathan Massey, 15 George Griffin, 19 Tyla Hepi, 21 Jesse Sene-Lefao, 22 Daniel Smith, 23 Greg Eden, 25 Jordan Turner, 26 Lewis Bienek, 29 Sam Hall, 31 Gareth O’Brien.

Leigh Centurions

Young centre Josh Simm is in line to make his second Centurions debut after joining on loan from St Helens. The 20-year-old made a handful of appearances on dual-registration in 2019. Scotland international James Bell is also set for his first appearance for the club, with Blake Wallace and Matty Wildie dropping out. Junior Sa’u (knee) and Brendan Elliot are still unavailable.

21-man squad: 1 Ryan Brierley, 2 Matty Russell, 3 Iain Thornley, 5 Lewis Tierney, 7 Joe Mellor, 8 Ben Flower, 9 Liam Hood, 10 Mark Ioane, 11 Ben Hellewell, 12 Jordan Thompson, 13 James Bell, 15 Alex Gerrard, 16 Nathaniel Peteru, 18 Matty Gee, 20 Adam Sidlow, 21 Tyrone McCarthy, 22 Craig Mullen, 24 Keanan Brand, 26 Nathan Peats, 30 Ben Reynolds, 31 Josh Simm.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments