Castleford Tigers v Salford Red Devils: Predicted line-ups and late injury news

The new eras at Castleford and Salford get underway tonight as the two clubs look to start 2022 with a win. The Tigers have a new coach and a number of exciting signings set to figure tonight as they begin an assault on the top four. Meanwhile, with a brand new spine, the return of Marc Sneyd and quality coach Paul Rowley at the club, Salford will be hoping to surprise a few this year. But how will both sides line up as they start their campaigns?

The story of Castleford’s season could very well hinge on settling on a strongest 17. With options across the board, it makes it almost impossible to predict Lee Radford’s team for Round One. The first question lies in the backs. I’ve gone for what the squad numbers suggest is Radford’s first choice backline but Mahe Fonua would then miss out. Likewise in the halves, Radford has to settle on two of Jake Trueman, Danny Richardson and Gareth O’Brien. The way Richardson finished last season, he may well get the nod alongside Trueman with O’Brien potentially on the bench. In the pack, it’ll be interesting to see how the backrow lines up with Adam Milner awarded number 12. However, new signing Alex Sutcliffe has caught the eye in pre-season in the role and could be handed a start.

As for Salford, their spine picks itself with Ryan Brierley, Brodie Croft and Marc Sneyd hoping to catch the eye at one, six and seven. New signings Sitaleki Akauola and King Vuniyayawa will provide energy down the middle but it’s likely only one will start. Speaking of new signings, Tim Lafai could be set for a debut at centre alongside Dan Sarginson as Kallum Watkins continues to recover from injury. There’s a major conundrum on the bench with Paul Rowley having to pick between Danny Addy and Chris Atkin for halfback cover.

1 Niall Evalds
2 Derrell Olpherts
3 Jordan Turner
4 Jake Mamo
5 Bureta Faraimo
6 Jake Trueman
7 Danny Richardson
15 George Griffin
9 Paul McShane
22 Daniel Smith
11 Kenny Edwards
21 Alex Sutcliffe
13 Joe Westerman
8 Liam Watts
10 George Lawler
12 Adam Milner
31 Gareth O’Brien

1 Ryan Brierley
2 Ken Sio
23 Dan Sarginson
4 Tim Lafai
5 Joe Burgess
6 Brodie Croft
7 Marc Sneyd
8 Sitaleki Akauola
9 Andy Ackers
10 Greg Burke
11 Shane Wright
12 James Greenwood
13 Elijah Taylor
15 King Vuniyayawa
16 Ryan Lannon
18 Chris Atkin
21 Josh Johnson

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments