Castleford Tigers confirm 2023 squad numbers with more than a few surprises

Castleford Tigers have confirmed their 2023 squad numbers with more than a few surprises.

The Tigers’ new star halfbacks from Warrington Wolves and Wakefield Trinity in Gareth Widdop and Jacob Miller take on the number six and seven shirts for the new season.

After joining mid-season last year, Alex Mellor moves to the number 12 shirt and is joined in the first choice pack by former Hull KR prop George Lawler who takes the number eight shirt.

Mahe Fonua has moved into the first 13 at number four after wearing 17 last year. Meanwhile, Greg Eden moves to the number two shirt and back into the first choice 13.

Niall Evalds, Paul McShane and Joe Westerman all keep their shirts.

New signings from Leeds Rhinos Jack Broadbent and Muizz Mustapha take on the number 17 and 20 shirts respectively.

Big signing from Hull KR Albert Vete is surprisingly left out of the first 17 with the number 19 shirt.

Jake Mamo has moved from the number four shirt at Castleford Tigers in one of three surprising moves outside of the starting 17 inside the Tigers’ squad numbers.

He will move to the number 21 shirt in 2023 after wearing the number four shirt last year after joining from Warrington Wolves.

Liam Watts has moved from the number eight shirt at Castleford Tigers way up the list to the number 32 shirt in a nostalgic move with Watts taking on the shirt number he first wore when he first joined the club.

Meanwhile, Danny Richardson has moved from the number seven shirt at Castleford Tigers.

This is presumably so Jacob Miller and Gareth Widdop can take the number six and seven shirts in the new Super League season though this has not been confirmed.

What has been confirmed is that Richardson will wear the number 37 shirt in 2023, the highest shirt at the Jungle, as confirmed at the club’s event tonight at Oulton Hall.

That said, there is a chance that we don’t see Richardson at all in 2023 after he underwent surgery in 2023 and perhaps this is why he is so high up the squad numbers.

Daniel Smith keeps 22 and once again Suaia Matagi is high up the squad numbers with 23.

1 Niall Evalds
2 Greg Eden
3 Jordan Turner
4 Mahe Fonua
5 Bureta Faraimo
6 Gareth Widdop
7 Jacob Miller
8 George Lawler
9 Paul McShane
10 George Griffin
11 Kenny Edwards
12 Alex Mellor
13 Joe Westerman
14 Nathan Massey
15 Alex Sutcliffe
16 Adam Milner
17 Jack Broadbent
18 Callum McLelland
19 Albert Vete
20 Muizz Mustapha
21 Jake Mamo
22 Daniel Smith
23 Suaia Matagi
24 Cain Robb
25 Brad Martin
26 Elliot Wallis
27 Bailey Dawson
28 Sam Hall
29 Kieran Hudson
30 Jacob Hookem
31 Jason Qareqare
32 Liam Watts
33 Aaron Willis
34 George Hill
35 Ilikaya Mafi
36 Hugo Nikhata
37 Danny Richardson