British rugby league the latest to score massive victory over rugby union

Over the weekend, we reported how rugby league had scored a big victory over rugby union with the news that Rugby Australia were now ceasing their pursuit of NRL stars.

Now it is time for a big victory for rugby league in Britain over their 15 man counter parts. This is because the Rugby Union Premiership are being forced into a negative change compared to a positive stride forward recently taken in Super League.

Back in June, RL Commercial revealed that clubs had agreed to add a third marquee player to their salary cap for 2024 and beyond. This player must be federation trained meaning from Britain or France. Clubs will also be awarded further salary cap relief if the player is from their academy.

This was a massive step forward for Super League clubs in terms of spending power and comes as the Daily Mail reports that in rugby union marquee players are set to be reduced from two players to just one.

This is set to have an impact on reported Wigan Warriors target Owen Farrell however. Son of Wigan legend Andy Farrell, he is now set to become Saracens only marquee player showing his value to the club.

In a bid to keep him, he will be paid a huge £1 million moving forward which does show one persisting negative for rugby league compared to rugby union with that wage still unlikely in Super League.

But it is excellent news for the sport that Super League can be equipped with three marquee players whilst rugby union has been reduced to one.

This comes after a number of big rugby union clubs have been plunged into financial problems in recent years.

It should be said however that not everything is rosy in rugby league however. The likes of Salford Red Devils and Castleford Tigers are unable to spend the full salary cap in 2024 due to a reduction in TV money with a smaller TV deal.

Meanwhile, Hull FC owner Adam Pearson confirmed that they are unable to afford a third marquee player unlike some of their Super League rivals such as Leeds Rhinos, Wigan Warriors and Warrington Wolves.