Brian McDermott names his first Featherstone Rovers side ahead of Leeds Rhinos clash

Brian McDermott has named his first Featherstone Rovers side as he faces the club he guided to a record four Super League titles this weekend in the shape of Leeds Rhinos.

McDermott is set to hand debuts to the likes of Jesse Sene-Lefao, Matty Wildie and of course former Leeds winger Luke Briscoe who is set to line up against brother Tom this weekend.

In the halves McDermott has named Tom Holmes alongside Morgan Smith whilst Craig Kopczak and skipper James Lockwood start at prop.

In the backrow, Sene-Lefao is joined by Junior Moors whilst highly sought after winger Gareth Gale is set to start on the left flank.

There’s no Joseph Leilua of course and no Dane Chisholm whilst Brandon Pickersgill doesn’t feature at fullback and instead Craig Hall does after a brilliant 2021 campaign.

Here’s Featherstone’s starting 13 for tomorrow’s game in full:

4 Craig Hall
2 Luke Briscoe
18 Josh Hardcastle
17 Ben Hellewell
5 Gareth Gale
6 Tom Holmes
20 Morgan Smith
8 Craig Kopczak
14 Matty Wildie
10 James Lockwood
16 Junior Moors
12 Jesse Sene-Lefao
13 Jack Bussey

On the bench, McDermott has named eight substitutes including former Leeds men Brett Ferres and Loui McConnell. Connor Jones, John Davies, Kyle Trout, Luke Cooper, Callum Field and Bayley Gill will also feature on the bench.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments