Both squads named for Denver test

Both Wayne Bennett and Michael McGuire have named their  respective England and New Zealand squads for the international test in Denver on Saturday.

For England, St Helens winger Tom Makinson and Hull FC utility Jake Connor have both been named to make their international debuts.

Saints prop Luke Thompson was named in the extended squad earlier this month and has travelled to America with the side, but will unfortunately miss out this weekend.

Wigan halfback George Williams also misses out after picking up a knee injury, joining George Burgess on the sidelines after the South Sydney prop was ruled out earlier in the week. He was replaced by Scott Taylor, who is also included in the 17.

St George Illawarra Dragons prop James Graham will make his 40th England appearance on Saturday, almost 10 years to the day since his first England appearance against France in June 2008.

The New Zealand squad includes seven debutants, four of whom have represented Samoa in the past. There are also nine survivors from he Kiwis’ failed 2017 World Cup campaign.

Michael McGuire is without the influential quartet of Shaun Johnson, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Tohu Harris and Adam Blair but has recalled New Zealand Warriors hooker Issac Luke amd Brisbane Broncos outside back Jordan Kahu.

England 17-man squad for test against New Zealand:

John Bateman, Sam Burgess, Thomas Burgess, Jake Connor, James Graham, Ryan Hall, Chris Hill, Jonny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Jermaine McGillvary, Sean O’Loughlin (c), Mark Percival, Stefan Ratchford, James Roby, Scott Taylor, Elliott Whitehead, Gareth Widdop.

New Zealand squad:

Leeson Ah Mau, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Herman Ese’ese, Raymond Faitala-Mariner, James Fisher-Harris, Slade Griffin, Peta Hiku, Jamayne Isaako, Jordan Kahu, Isaac Liu, Issac Luke, Te Maire Martin, Esan Marsters, Ken Maumalo, Kodi Nikorima, Joseph Tapine, Martin Taupau, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.