Bevan French wins 2020 RLWBA Player of the Year award

Wigan fullback Bevan French has been named the Rugby League Writers’ and Broadcasters’ Association Player of the Year for 2020.

The 24-year-old has lit up the competition since arriving in Lancashire last July and has been a standout player this year, helping his side lift the League Leaders’ Shield and reach the Grand Final.

He has scored 13 tries in 18 games, while he also leads the stats charts for tackle busts and clean breaks.

He beats close rivals Alex Walmsley and Lachlan Coote to collect the Raymond Fletcher Memorial Trophy, which was won in 2019 by his current Wigan team-mate Jackson Hastings.

RLWBA chairman Trevor Hunt said: “Its been the darkest of times but Bevan French has typified the spirit of Rugby League with some outstanding performances to lift the gloom and spark Wigan to the League leaders Shield and Betfred Grand Final, claiming over 70% of the vote to become the RLWBA Player of the Year.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments