Connect with us

More RL

Bennett makes changes for Kiwis clash

Daryl Clark, Jake Connor and Joe Philbin have been included in Wayne Bennett’s provisional starting 17 for Great Britain’s Test match against New Zealand this weekend.

They replace Lachlan Coote (dropped), Oliver Gildart (shoulder injury) and Luke Thompson (rib problem) for the clash at Eden Park on Saturday.

Jonny Lomax has been promoted from the bench to full-back after Coote’s disappointing display against Tonga, while Connor takes Gildart’s place in the centres.

Tom Burgess will start in the front row with Warrington pair Clark and Philbin set to make their Great Britain debuts from the interchange bench.

The Lions are searching for their first win of this Oceania tour after losing their opening match 14-6 against a Tonga Invitational XIII side in Hamilton last Saturday.

This is the first of two back-to-back matches against New Zealand with the sides facing each other again next week in Christchurch.

GB squad to face the Kiwis: Lomax, Hall, Connor, Hardaker, McGillvary; Widdop, Hastings; Hill, Hodgson, Burgess, Bateman, Whitehead, Graham.

Interchanges: Walmsley, Jones, Philbin, Clark.

Extended bench: Hughes, Williams, Trueman, Austin.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in More RL