Connect with us


Bateman named Dally M Second Rower of the Year

John Bateman has been crowned as the Dally M ‘Second Rower of the Year’ in his debut NRL season.

The 26-year-old has made quite the impact since joining Canberra at the start of the season and could yet become a Premiership winner, with the Raiders taking on Sydney Roosters in the Grand Final this Sunday.

His efforts haven’t gone unnoticed either, with the former Bradford and Wigan man beating the likes of Australian internationals Felise Kaufusi and Boyd Cordner to the award.

Bateman was the only Englishman to make the Dally M Team of the Year.

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco won the 2019 Dally M Medal.

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco was the evening’s big winner, winning both ‘Fullback of the Year’ and the headline award – the Dally M Medal.

St George Illawarra Dragons winger Jessica Sergis took home the ‘Women’s Female Player of the Year’ award after a superb season in the NRLW.

There was double joy for Melbourne Storm, with Cameron Smith winning ‘Captain of the Year’ and Craig Bellamy being awarded with the ‘Coach of the Year’ accolade.

Cameron Smith was named as both ‘Captain of the Year and ‘Hooker of the Year’.

Brisbane Broncos man mountain Payne Haas took away the ‘Rookie of the Year’ award.

Dally M Awards:

Dally M Medal: James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)

Dally M Female Player of the Year: Jessica Sergis (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm)

Rookie of the Year: Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)

Team of the Year: Fullback – James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Winger – Ken Maumalo (New Zealand Warriors), Centre – Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters), Five-Eighth – Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm), Halfback – Mitchell Moses (Paramatta Eels), Prop – Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos), Hooker – Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm), Second Row – John Bateman (Canberra Raiders), Lock – Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Interchange – Brandon Smith (Melbourne Storm), Coach – Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in NRL