Connect with us


1895 Cup: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Featherstone and York have both announced their 21-man squads for Saturday afternoon’s 1895 Cup Final at Wembley (KO 12:00pm).

The match was at risk of being postponed earlier this week due to several positive COVID-19 tests within the Rovers camp, however they have been able to raise a side from those testing negative and not struck down by track and trace, meaning the clash will go ahead.

With the competition in it’s second year, after the 2020 edition was cancelled, it will be the first time either side has competed in the Final, with Sheffield Eagles the current holders after they beat Widnes in 2019.

Both clubs have visited Wembley in the past, though, with Featherstone’s last trip to the national stadium ending in dramatic fashion as they pulled off one of the Challenge Cup’s biggest upsets in 1983, defeating a star-studded Hull FC side 14-12 with forward David Hobbs collecting the Lance Todd Trophy.

The Knights, meanwhile, haven’t visited Wembley in 90 years, with their last game there being a 22-8 Challenge Cup defeat to Halifax.

The game will be available to watch live on the BBC red button and on iPlayer, with coverage starting ahead of kick-off at 12:00pm.

Featherstone Rovers

Rovers name an 18-man squad following their COVID-19 outbreak, with several stars dropping out, including Tom Holmes, Connor Jones, Dean Parata and Junior Moors. Kris Welham and James Lockwood both return, while youngsters Jake Sweeting and Jacob Doyle are also called up. James Webster is still without Ben Blackmore (suspended), Brad Day (achilles), Thomas Minns (leg), Jack Bussey and Frankie Halton.

18-man squad: 1 Craig Hall, 3 Kris Welham, 4 Josh Hardcastle, 5 Gareth Gale, 7 Dane Chisholm, 8 Craig Kopczak, 9 Fa’amanu Brown, 10 James Harrison, 11 Brett Ferres, 13 James Lockwood, 15 John Davies, 18 Luke Cooper, 19 Callum Field, 22 Jake Sweeting, 23 Joe Summers, 27 Loui McConnell, 28 Jacob Doyle, 29 Harvey Spence.

York City Knights

The Knights make seven changes, with Mikey Lewis among the new additions after re-joining on loan from Hull KR. Two-time Challenge Cup winner Adam Cuthbertson returns from a knee problem, while Matty Marsh, Kriss Brining and young trio AJ Towse, Myles Harrison and Toby Warren are also back in contention. The experienced Liam Salter, Ryan Atkins, James Green and Jordan Baldwinson drop out, as do loanees Riley Dean, Corey Johnson and Corey Hall. Brendan O’Hagan (quad), Morgan Smith (ACL) and Joe Porter (knee) remain unavailable.

21-man squad: 1 Matty Marsh, 2 Jason Bass, 5 Kieran Dixon, 8 Ronan Dixon, 9 Will Jubb, 10 Jack Teanby, 11 Chris Clarkson, 12 Sam Scott, 13 Adam Cuthbertson, 14 Kriss Brining, 16 Marcus Stock, 17 Danny Kirmond, 20 Tim Spears, 22 Perry Whiteley, 23 Ben Jones-Bishop, 25 AJ Towse, 26 Myles Harrison, 27 Toby Warren, 28 Danny Washbrook, 30 Tyme Dow-Nikau, 37 Mikey Lewis

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Championship