10 Super League players named in Scotland squad

10 Super League players and one NRL representative have been named in Scotland’s train-on squad ahead of the upcoming World Cup Qualifiers.

Among them are two uncapped players, in the shape of youngsters Callum McLelland and Kieran Buchanan of Leeds and Hull FC respectively.

McLelland played for Scotland’s Rugby Union U20s during a nine-month stint with Edinburgh Rugby in 2018.

Leeds halfback Callum McLelland has been included in the Scotland RL squad for the first time.

St Helens star Lachlan Coote has also been named but could become unavailable should he be chosen by Wayne Bennett to represent Great Britain instead.

Luke Douglas (St Helens), Alex Walker (Wakefield), Ben Hellewell (London), Adam Walker (Salford), Danny Addy, Kane Linnett and Will Oakes (all Hull KR) complete the Super League contingent.

South Sydney Rabbitohs star Campbell Graham is also included in the squad, however, like Lachlan Coote he is also a chance of being called up by GB.

There are several representatives from the Championship and League 1, including Batley flyer Dave Scott, Halifax enforcer Ben Kavanagh and Toronto halfback Ryan Brierley.

NRL star Campbell Graham has also received a call-up.

Former Huddersfield, Wakefield and Bradford back rower Dale Ferguson has been named as captain.

Scotland head coach Natha Graham said: “As someone who has been involved with Scotland Rugby League for many years, I am extremely proud to be part of the coaching team for two such important games.

“The whole playing squad and staff are looking forward to two very exciting and challenging matches.”

Scotland World Cup Qualifiers Train-on Squad: Brett Carter (Barrow Raiders), David Scott (Batley Bulldogs), Brandan Wilkinson, Frankie Mariano (Doncaster), Craig Robertson, Lewis Clarke, Mikey Mair (Edinburgh Eagles), Matt Hogg (Edinburgh Eagles/Newcastle University), Scott Plumridge (Glasgow RL), Ben Kavanagh (Halifax), Kieran Buchanan (Hull FC), Danny Addy, Kane Linnett, Will Oakes (Hull KR), Davey Dixon, Kieran Moran (Keighley Cougars), Nick Glohe (Lakes United Seagulls), Callum McLelland (Leeds Rhinos), Liam Hood (Leigh Centurions), Ben Hellewell (London Broncos), Charlie Emslie, Connor Terrill (Millom), Dan Turland (Murwillumbah Mustangs), Niall Sidney, Sam Luckley (Newcastle Thunder), Lachlan Stein (Newtown Jets), Izaac Farrell (Rochdale Hornets), Adam Walker (Salford), Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Lachlan Coote, Luke Douglas (St Helens), Murray Mitchell, Niall Hall (Strathmore Silverbacks), Oscar Thomas (Swinton Lions), Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack), James Bell (Toulouse Olympique), Hamish Bentley, Kane Bentley (Toulouse Olympique Elite), Joe McLean, Sam Herron (West Wales Raiders), Alex Walker (Wakefield Trinty), Brett Phillips (Whitehaven RLFC), Dale Ferguson, Oliver Wilkes (Unattached)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments