Super League all-time table 1996-2017

Jon Wilkin hands off Lee Mossop during the Super League clash between St Helens and Wigan in 2016. Picture:

Ahead of the 2017 season, we have calculated a Super League all-time table featuring every team since the competition began in 1996.

St Helens sit top of the pile having competed in Super League from the very first year in 1996, winning 400 of their 569 matches across the 21 seasons. Not only have the Saints won the most and lost the least matches, they have also scored the most points and have the best points’ difference. They have reached the play-offs in every season since they were introduced in 1998, winning the League Leader’s Shield seven times and the Super League title on six different occasions.

Second in the table are the Wigan Warriors who sit 29 points behind their arch rivals having won 384 of their 569 matches in the Super League era. The Warriors are the reigning Super League champions and have won the title on four different occasions. Coming in third place are the Leeds Rhinos who currently hold the most Super League titles with seven, despite coming below both St Helens and Wigan in the overall ladder. With three League Leader’s Shields, the Rhinos have proved to be the best big match performers since 2004, winning the title twice from fifth position.

Making up the top four are the now extinct Bradford Bulls, who were relegated in 2014 and have since liquidated and reformed in the Championship. Prior to their relegation, Bradford had played in every one of the previous 19 seasons, often finishing in the top four places. In the late 90’s and early 2000’s the Bulls were the team to beat in Super League, topping the table on four occasions and winning the Grand Final four times. In 2005 they became the first team to win the title from outside the top two, winning their final 12 matches to lift the Super League trophy from third place.

In fifth are the 2016 league leaders Warrington Wolves who are just three points behind Bradford in fourth. They will overtake the former Bulls on the overall table this season as they go in search of their first Super League title. The rest of the top eight are made up of current Super League teams Hull FC, Castleford Tigers and Huddersfield Giants, with London Broncos and Wakefield Wildcats making up the top 10. Bottom place is currently occupied by the Leigh Centurions who return to the top flight this season looking for a big improvement on their previous Super League campaign in 2005, when they picked up just five points.

Super League all-time table 1996-2017:
Super League all-time table